#atozchallenge, M is for Moving…

Faelynn sobbed tiny sparkly fairy tears when she thought about being alone again.  Sarah had grown up as humans do, but Faelynn was still a childlike sprite.  Sarah’s family had sold their house and was moving away.

“Don’t cry,” Sarah begged Faelynn.  “I have a surprise.”  The little sprite waited anxiously inside her tiny house.  A human girl child Faelynn didn’t know crouched down by the stone cottage, her big blue eyes wide with delight.  “Faelynn, come meet Missy.  She is moving into the big house with her parents and needs a friend.”  Faelynn fluttered outside happily.  “Thank you, Sarah!”

###

My theme this year is 100 word fiction.  (So don’t count this line!)  This is a continuation of F is for Friend, which you can find here.

14 responses

  1. Aaaww, nice touch.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I need to get going on the othwrs

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Aww… so sweet! Little fairy can just have new friends as the old ones grow up and have to leave. You could have a whole book series… one for every friend the fairy makes…!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Excellent marketing plan. I will need to hire you to do the illustrations!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Does the fairy wear black? Ha! I’m just kidding. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. No, but that could be a nice twist for a story 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Awww (I’m trying to be like everyone else commenting!). I’ve never read fantasy, but I know a good tale when I hear one. Well done, that was touching.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, I’ve not really written fantasy but figure this is the best time to experiment with different genres!

      Like

  4. She seems sadder than she should. We all grow up (& out in my case!)

    Like

    1. Ahh, but fairies never grow up, I’m afraid!

      Like

  5. It is a very sweet story, Diane. You’re right — the 100 word limit does compel a tight tale. Well done! Did you make the adorable fairy house, too?

    Like

  6. Every fairy deserves a child to love her. ❤

    Like

Leave a comment