It’s Tuesday, right?

And August 1!  In the summer especially, it seems like the days kind of run into each other and it’s hard to keep track.  Vacations, family get togethers, all that fun stuff.   And since my kids are older, I don’t have to worry about school schedules anymore.

I’ve taken a few pictures of my yard to show you what I’ve been up to so far.

IMG_1740

These are our first ripe tomatoes.  We’re waiting for JP to come over this afternoon to pick them.  He’s very excited about Papa’s tomatoes turning red so he can pick them, but he’ll be the first to tell you he doesn’t like tomatoes.  To eat.  But ripping them off the vine and bringing them in the house to wash in the kitchen sink?  Yes!

My little herb garden.  My basil plant is HUGE and the rosemary and sage are not far behind.  I forgot to take a picture of the thyme but it has it’s own separate area because it needs sun and afternoon shade.  I love growing herbs, but I admit I’ve only used the basil so far.  Recipe ideas for the other herbs, anyone?

These are my Rose of Sharon tree and bushes.  They are incredibly pretty this year, just covered in blossoms.  I think they’re called red, but they’re actually more of a deep purple pink with a reddish throat.  I can see them in the corner of my yard from my kitchen window and the color is such a welcome sight.

I didn’t take a picture of the Knock Out Roses surrounding my sunroom because I had to cut them all back after picking off and drowning nearly 100 Japanese beetles.  I found more yesterday in the Rose of Sharon.  I normally do not get this excited about killing bugs, but these things made my rose leaves look like pieces of lace and then the larvae from the eggs they lay will become the grubs that eat grass roots next spring.  So, I fill a plastic container with sudsy water and, with the lid, gleefully knock the horrid beetles into the container.  The next day, rinse out the container and repeat!

 

23 responses

  1. Rise of Sharon is pretty. We have a hedge row full of it. That stuff gets unruly if left unattended though. It’ll take over in a heartbeat. 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We have a tree and two bushes and they’ve gotten pretty good sized, but since they’re in the back corner of the yard, don’t really mind. I finally realized that all my bushes and perennials were spring blooming, so I’m adding summer bloomers. Maybe some hydrangea this fall. And I like things that are easy and don’t need a lot of maintenance!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hydrangea certainly fit that bill. They’re my favorites. Plant em and let em do their thing. Perfect! 😃

        Liked by 2 people

  2. The garden looks wonderful, Dee! I bet those tomatoes are delicious.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. First ones this year! Nothing better than fresh tomatoes ❤️

      Like

  3. Pasta with butter, sage and fresh Parmesan cheese is one of our favorites!

    Like

    1. Ooh that sounds good. I’ve had butternut squash ravioli with sage leaves that was super good. Did you have any flooding by you?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No just buckets of rain! Hope you missed it, too. 😁

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Not so much here. My brother up in AH got water in his basement tho.

        Like

  4. Beautiful! I love the Rose of Sharon. I’ve never heard of that. Of course, I’m the opposite of a gardener. I suck at that! My mom is so good she could be a professional. I guess I didn’t get those genes. I absolutely LOVE fresh tomatoes. My gram used to be amazing with all things plant-related (guess that’s where Mom got it) and we used to pick tomatoes from her garden and eat them like they were apples. So good!

    I would possibly have suggestions for your other herbs if I knew what they were. 😀 Yes, I’m that bad. I recognize basil and a couple of others, but I don’t know what your 2nd and 3rd pics are. *hides face in shame*

    Like

    1. (The 2nd and 3rd pics after the basil, I mean…) 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh the second is rosemary and the soft green leaves are sage. I am planning to freeze them in olive oil in ice cube trays for later in the year. And when I find some recipes lol. I also have thyme

    Like

  6. How glorious! Your garden is soooooo lovely and the Rose Of Sharon bush deserves special mention…what I wouldn’t give 🙂 So happy for you…thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Truly! I do love flowering plants that come back year after year

      Like

  7. Lucky you! Our backyard is in the middle of re-landscaping job thus no veggies but we do have a small herb garden. Happy August!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A few times over the years we haven’t had a garden and I miss my tomatoes so much. Happy August to you, too, Jan!

      Like

  8. How wonderful. We didn’t do a veggie garden this year. I miss it. I love putting herbs in my flower garden, Rue for the roses, parsley for fun, and thyme to spill over the rock edges. The basil planted between the tomatoes, and marigold by the squash and beans. Companion planting is fun. I have Rosemary all over, in pots, in flower beds. I put Rosemary in everything, chicken, veggie soup, casseroles, in squash dishes.
    I love when the basil blooms, I will cut the flower stalks and bring them in for the table. You have a wonderful garden. We call the rose of Sharon, Althea. Your double flower variety is so pretty. It’s a great flowering shrub. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve never planted rue. I should put the basil in among the tomatoes. Some years we do the little green onion sets there and they do fine. I will definitely try the rosemary in some things, It smells so good! Thank you for noticing my Rose of Sharon is a double flowering. I do think the single ones are beautiful, too, like hibiscus!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s a great flower either way. So cheerful!

        Like

  9. Have you ever tried the Japanese beetle traps? Your poor roses! Your herbs look so yummy! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have not tried them. Maybe I will for next year. These just started a couple of years ago and I don’t know if no one else has any yummy flowers in my neighborhood or what! They were even on my basil!

      Like

  10. Your garden looks great! I’m envious of your tomatoes; the chipmunks have gotten our first two ripe ones. Needless to say, we’ve trapped about a half dozen of them now. Crossing my fingers we’ve caught them all. A relocation trip a few miles away should deter them! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Isn’t that the most annoying when you have beautiful plants and something gnaws on them? We had pumpkins one year and chipmunks ate about half of them!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

