The Reunion, 11…

You can find earlier excerpts from The Reunion here

“Brian, I do understand, but Casey’s what, 18, 19?  And she is going to be out from under her parents’ roofs pretty soon anyway.  You won’t have a lot of say so when she’s away at school, especially what she’s doing at night or on the weekends.  It sounds like you did a great job raising her and now you’ll have to trust her to make good choices.“

Whoops, she knew she’d really stepped into it when his smile thinned and his eyes narrowed.  “And you know this from your vast experience with child rearing?”

###

“Wow, sorry, of course not. No kids here. I didn’t mean to overstep. I haven’t even seen you in years and here I am giving you advice on your teenager –“

“No, I’m the one who’s sorry.  I just apologized for how I treated you years ago and I’m being an ass again.  Of course you’ve got opinions about how teenaged girls act. You were one. Your ideas are probably worth more than mine.” He looked up at her and she could see the sadness in his eyes. “It seems like Casey’s gone from being Daddy’s little girl to this almost grown up overnight and I hate it. I mean, she used to care what I thought and talk to me about everything!”

“Oh, Brian, I’m sure she still cares. Maybe it’s different for girls, this breaking away from being someone’s child and learning to live on their own. I know it was like some huge declaration of independence for me. It’s why I wanted to go out of state to college – get as far away from the little town and my parents as I could. Otherwise, I’d always just be mom and dad’s little girl.”

He looked down at his dinner plate and struggled to regain his composure. Just thinking about the recent issues with Casey was enough to drive him crazy. And here at dinner with Jen was not the place. He should be focusing on her.

“Forget I said anything about it. I’m sure she’ll come around.”  With an effort, he changed the subject.  “So tell me what you did after you went away to school.”

And Jen proceeded to tell him about how his not taking her to prom was actually a good thing because it had served as a catalyst to get her to change her life, come out of her shell, take care of herself by eating better and exercising and caring about her appearance. And that led to a boyfriend and then another whom she married after graduation and lived with in the Chicago area. But the marriage only lasted four years and even though she dated now on and off, it seemed as though she’d not found anyone she wanted to keep seeing.

“So it’s just you and Jack now?” he asked, his eyes teasing.

“Oh, yeah, and he’s a sweetheart for sure. And the perfect speed, too. He’ll do walks around the block or the neighborhood, but then he’s more than happy to snooze next to me on the couch while we watch a movie. He’s a real snuggler.”

“A real snagger is more the word I was thinking,” Brian laughed. “I still can’t believe he stole my underwear while I was coming out of the shower.”

“He does love a good game of chase!” Jen laughed. And when she saw the glint in Brian’s eyes her breath caught.  Apparently he wasn’t upset with her anymore.

“Well, who doesn’t love a good game of chase?” he leaned forward and casually picked up one of her hands, running his fingers over hers.  She was aware of how much larger and harder his fingers were, a little roughened from the carpentry work, obviously stronger than hers. Now that she thought about it, everything about him was larger and stronger than she remembered.

23 responses

    1. Thanks, Miri! How are things in your part of the world?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Can’t complain too much Dee. Hope you’re doing well.

        Like

  1. I think that she’s really taken by him, especially now that her memory was reminded of his, um, physical stature. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Large, strong, hard — whew *fanning myself* kind of wish I was eating ice cream in the car with a friend 😉

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I would absolutely love to share an ice cream with you, Dee. Now, I’m fanning myself, too! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. If only we lived closer. Or there were planes! Wait…

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I’ll wear my Blackhawks Jersey. As long as I don’t spill ice cream on it. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Haha, but we’ll never agree on baseball, will we?

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Tried and true redbird fan here!

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Yeah, wear the Blackhawks jersey! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Haha! Will do. 😍

        Like

      8. Thnkas for taking the time to post. It’s lifted the level of debate

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh…love the way you ended this part. The anticipation is palpable!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, thank you, that’s why it’s so short! I had to stop right there…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome! Can’t wait to read the next part.

        Like

  3. Yes… larger and stronger… sounds good to me… 🙂 ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ahhh yes! Larger, stronger … nice, verrrrry nice!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re very welcome!

        Like

  5. Loved this…and all the comments!😆

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I have such wonderful and fun blogging friends ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

