#atozchallenge, T is for Taxi…

Trace had abruptly pulled his taxi over after seeing a young woman stumble off the curb and fall.  It was dark, so dark that he couldn’t see if she was bleeding, could only tell from her silhouette that it was even a woman.

As he jumped out to help, he thought he heard someone running away.  Dialing 911, Trace crouched down to use the flashlight on his phone, just as her eyes opened and she started screaming.  “What is your emergency?” came the sharp voice of the operator.  “I need an ambulance  –”

The girl looked terrified.   “Help, he’s trying to kill me!”

###

My theme this year is 100 word fiction.  (So, no, don’t count this line.)  This is a continuation of D is for Darkness, which you can find here.

21 responses

  1. Uh oh! So Trace could find himself in a whole mess of trouble for trying to do the right thing! Dee, add this to the growing pile of ideas to explore further! 😀

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I know, more than he bargained for!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. So we totally need to know what happens next!

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Yeah, this may be one to expand…

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yes! Excellent news! 😀

        Like

  2. Ooh, captivating story …

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, it’s pretty open ended, I know, but I’m never sure which way I want these to go!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Leaving your options open is always a good idea!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Lots of tension in just 100 words.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Strangely this seemed to give me a very different story…I had my friend read it and he read as Trace getting into trouble. And I, for a moment, thought – What if Trace is suffering from DID? And if the girl’s plea is to the operator on the other end saying Trace (or one of his personalities) is trying to kill her? Phew…I’ve clearly been watching too many weird movies, huh? 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. No, I think you’re fine! I kind of left it open ended to interpret how you wanted. Trace might be the good guy or the bad guy — Thanks for reading, A!

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Poor Trace, unless she recognised him from some previous meeting where he had tried to kill her!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So much for being a good Samaritan!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Such a fascinating mystery. . . I like your leaving us hanging, Dee! xo ❤

    Like

  8. This is a good one. An opening to explore. I wonder what she’s up to?

    Like

Leave a Reply

