#atozchallenge, D is for Darkness…

Danielle knew walking home at night probably wasn’t her smartest choice, but the thought of paying for a cab had seemed wasteful.  As the path took her further away from the well lit station, Dani fervently wished she was safely in a taxi rather than walking alone on the dark, deserted street.   She had never noticed how few streetlights there were.  What little illumination they provided only served to make hulking shadows of trees and bushes that were lush and friendly during daylight.

She sensed another presence, a prickle of awareness.  Footsteps drawing nearer.  She turned, stumbled, fell into darkness…

###

My theme this year is 100 word stories.  (So, no, don’t count this line!)

23 responses

    1. Trying to mix it up! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Terrifying and chilling! Excellent.

    Like

  2. So today I’m not sad, just a little scared. Still really good, makes me want to read on 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, I’m just practicing doing some romance, some mystery, some horror!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s all good ❤ Blessings Mz. D

        Like

  3. Excellently done. So – how do you find such a perfect picture to go with your story? Are you finding the picture, getting the idea for the ‘letter of the day’, and then writing? Love to know the “process” you are going through (if there is a defined process, heh).
    Again – very artistically done. I’m getting jealous…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, thank you so much! Usually I have the idea first, then try to find a picture to go with it, usually on Pixabay. But a few times I’ll find a picture and it changes the storyline a little to fit it better. Don’t be jealous! 🙂

      Like

  4. Chilling! Very good.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You’re just trying to terrify the heck out of me now! I mean – OMG – what happened next? Did she survive the horrifying attack? Tell me! Tell me!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Maybe… or maybe not. We don’t even know if she was really attacked now, do we?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Typical me – imagination running on ahead. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Love the photograph at the beginning of your post, the way the light plays through the image casting shadows and tinting the colours is beautiful. I enjoyed your 100 word story about the picture, it was intriguing. So many questions running through my mind: what does it mean she fell into darkness, what is in the darkness? Is it danger? Is it some kind of mysterious love? What happens? Nice post.

    A – Z: D for
    Diaper Cream
    Shari

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, thank you for seeing all the possibilities! And for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m glad it turned out to be a false alarm. She lives for another day where, c’mon seriously, she makes the same mistake again and walks alone through the darkness. Some folks never learn. I know this, for I am one of them.

    Oh, and cool picture that you’ve turned totally creepy with the story. Nice, that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Funny how we read the pictures differently…

      Like

  8. Ooh… scary as hell! I’m already afraid of the dark… even inside my own home! 😀

    I’ve seen that picture before (on pixabay) and I always thought of walking toward the light at the end, turning a corner, and going to the pub. I guess it reminded me of London… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lots of people thought the picture was very friendly, but it kind of creeps me out!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Ah! The suspense! You got me thinking ,
    like good writers do .:) ❤

    Like

  10. Right off the cliff…. ah! I want to know what happened next!

    Like

  11. […] My theme this year is 100 word fiction.  (So, no, don’t count this line.)  This is a continuation of D is for Darkness, which you can find here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

