Song a Day (5)…

Phew, I made it to the fifth day of the song challenge just in time to follow up with my first AtoZ Blogging Challenge post for the month of April!  This year I’m writing short fiction.  But, I digress.  My friend Dr. Meg at Meg Sorick, Writer, tagged me for ‘a song a day’ challenge.  Meg writes and draws and bakes.  And she’s a chiropractor — can you say overachiever??   But seriously, you need to check out her blog if you don’t follow already.  It’s wonderful.

The rules are to post the lyrics of a favorite song five days in a row, explain what they mean to you (if you like) and add the video if available.  Even my kids tell me I have the musical taste of a preteen girl, so sorry about that 😀  You are then supposed to nominate two other bloggers who can participate if they wish.  At the risk of leaving any of my dear friends out, please feel free to join in the fun!

If you know me at all, you knew I’d get to Meghan Trainor with this challenge 😉  I mean, the song is about lying boyfriends, diamond earrings and saying goodbye!  And it’s so much fun to work out (or, let’s be honest, clean the bathrooms) to this music!

Lips Are Moving

If your lips are moving, if your lips are moving
If your lips are moving, then you’re lyin’, lyin’, lyin’, baby
If your lips are moving, if your lips are moving
If your lips are moving, then you’re lyin’, lyin’, lyin’, baby
Boy, look at me in my face
Tell me that you’re not just about this bass
You really think I could be replaced
Nah, I come from outer space
And I’m a classy girl, I’mma hold it up
You’re full of something but it ain’t love
And what we got, straight overdue
Go find somebody new
You can buy me diamond earrings and deny-ny-ny, ny-ny-ny, deny-ny
But I smell her on your collar so goodbye-bye-bye, bye-bye-bye
I know you lie
‘Cause your lips are moving
Tell me do you think I’m dumb?
I might be young, but I ain’t stupid
Talking around in circles with your tongue
I gave you bass, you gave me sweet talk
Saying how I’m your number one
But I know you lie
‘Cause your lips are moving
Baby don’t you know I’m done
If your lips are moving, if your lips are moving
If your lips are moving, then you’re lyin’, lyin’, lyin’, baby
If your lips are moving, if your lips are moving
If your lips are moving, then you’re lyin’, lyin’, lyin’, baby
Hey baby don’t you bring them tears
‘Cause it’s too late, too late baby
You only love me when you’re here
You’re so two-faced, two-faced babe
You can buy me diamond earrings and deny-ny-ny, ny-ny-ny, deny-ny
But I smell her on your collar so goodbye-bye-bye, bye-bye-bye
I know you lie
‘Cause your lips are moving
Tell me do you think I’m dumb?
I might be young, but I ain’t stupid
Talking around in circles with your tongue
I gave you bass, you gave me sweet talk
Saying how I’m your number one
But I know you lie
‘Cause your lips are moving
Baby don’t you know I’m done
Come on, say!
If your lips are moving, if your lips are moving
If your lips are moving, then you’re lyin’, lyin’, lyin’,
If your lips are moving, if your lips are moving
If your lips are moving, then you’re lyin’, lyin’, lyin’,
I know you lie
‘Cause your lips are moving
Tell me do you think I’m dumb?
I might be young, but I ain’t stupid
Talking around in circles with your tongue
I gave you bass, you gave me sweet talk
Saying how I’m your number one
But I know you lie
‘Cause your lips are moving
Baby don’t you know I’m done
Songwriters: Kevin Kadish, Meghan Trainor
© Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC, Downtown Music Publishing

12 responses

  1. I like the song too a lot. My daughter introduced me to the song and we bop to it in the house or in the car 🙂

    I am hosting a blog party right now and would like to invite you over.
    https://acookingpotandtwistedtales.com/2017/04/01/its-april-shindig-welcome-to-the-party/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yep, have to admit it but I’m a fan of this too. 💃🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How much fun was this uplifting post? Thanks so much for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I just love her voice!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Love Meghan Trainor!! I was tagged by Rob, still have to start with Day One!! I was hoping to do it this weekend but no such luck. It’s quite a fun challenge actually. xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I’m glad you’re doing it. It was fun and its interesting to see what everyone chooses!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It is interesting!! 🙂

        Like

  5. Meghan Trainor was inevitable! But seriously a fun song!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

