Song a Day (4)…

My friend Dr. Meg at Meg Sorick, Writer, tagged me for ‘a song a day’ challenge.  Meg writes and draws and bakes.  And she’s a chiropractor — can you say overachiever??   But seriously, you need to check out her blog if you don’t follow already.  It’s wonderful.

The rules are to post the lyrics of a favorite song five days in a row, explain what they mean to you (if you like) and add the video if available.  Even my kids tell me I have the musical taste of a preteen girl, so sorry about that 😀  You are then supposed to nominate two other bloggers who can participate if they wish and my choices are:

The Happy Quitter

Wendy at Ramblings and Musings

I know I’ve mentioned that I come from a somewhat military family.  My husband, father, father-in-law and one brother-in-law all served, so this song holds a special place in my heart.  Angel Flight was written to honor the U.S. pilots who bring home their fallen brethren from combat zones around the world to their final resting places.   The song is performed by Radney Foster with Darius Rucker singing back up.  The video explains the reasons behind writing the song and then it’s performed at the end.  Please grab your tissues and listen…

All I ever wanted to do was fly
Leave this world and live in the sky
I left the C130 out of Fort Worth town
I go up some days I don’t wanna come down

Well I fly that plane called the Angel Flight
Come on brother you’re with me tonight
Between Heaven and earth you’re never alone
On the Angel Flight
Come on brother I’m taking you home

I love my family and I love this land
But tonight this flight’s for another man
We do what we do because we heard the call
Some gave a little, but he gave it all

I fly that plane called the Angel Flight
Come on brother you’re with me tonight
Come on brother you’re with me tonight
Between Heaven and earth you’re never alone
On the Angel Flight
Come on brother I’m taking you home
Come on brother I’m taking you home

Well, the cockpit’s quiet and the stars are bright
Feels kinda like church in here tonight
It don’t matter where we touch down
On the Angel Flight its sacred ground

I fly that plane called the Angel Flight
Gotta hero riding with us tonight
Between Heaven and earth you’re never alone
On the Angel Flight
Come on brother I’m taking you home
Come on brother I’m taking you home
Come on brother I’m taking you home
Come on brother I’m taking you home

Songwriters: Darden Smith, Radney M. Foster

7 responses

  1. Very nice, Mz. D ❤

    Like

  2. […] over at “Ladies who Lunch reviews, etc.” had the nerve to tag me for the A-Song-A-Day-Challenge. My husband just laughed out loud […]

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, I better not watch this until I am somewhere others won’t see me crying!

    Like

  4. Beautiful song. I really enjoyed listening to how it evolved and while somber the end of the video made it worth it. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  5. Great choice, Dee. Sorry just catching up a little here…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

