Drifting Apart…

 

qfeqgc9x3fw-redd-angelo

Lately the romance, the tingles, the sighs

Seem just out of reach of everyday life

A hug and a pat and a peck on the cheek,

No comfort at all as seen through her eyes…

 

She misses the spark, the crackle, the zing

Could a couple sustain it forever and ever?

Polite conversation is becoming the norm

Desperate, she searches for signs of a fling…

 

Always exhausted, he says it’s his job

The travel, the calls, his excessive hours

Supposedly working till he sneaks into bed

She turns to her pillow to muffle her sobs…

 

She weeps for lost kisses, the desire in his eyes

Nights spent wrapped in each other’s arms

With nothing but moonlight touching their bodies

When she felt like a beauty whatever her size…

 

Now she’s polished and toned, ears filled with his lies

She glances at him in his traitorous slumber

He mumbles a name that isn’t her own

As she brushes away tears and plots his demise…

 

This is a reworked post from early last year. Β It was going to be romantic because it’s almost Valentine’s Day, but it didn’t come out that way! πŸ˜€

30 responses

  1. Valentine’s Day isn’t always a happy occasion, right? πŸ˜ƒ

    Like

  2. So well written, Diane, and sadly, so relevant. πŸ’œ

    Like

  3. His demise…very effective writing here, D. We could feel it.

    Like

  4. This was a great read. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yes, what the…😱😬 I was expecting a happy outcome! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It just wouldn’t go that way!

      Like

  6. This works well this way!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Awww, Dee that was beautiful and melancholy at the same time. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I actually started it last year for hubby ‘s birthday and for some reason it got ugly really fast! Not autobiographical you understand!

      Like

  8. It would be more fun to keep him around to watch the fireworks when her new love comes on the scene…that’s just me. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. er…sometimes. 😦

        Like

  9. Dee, this was great, so relevant. The sequel – he gets what’s coming to him!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m trying so hard to get back to fiction, just not happening. And taxes are interfering too! I’m getting organized this year if it kills me! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ugh! Taxes… I have to get going on them too. πŸ˜‘

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Very Good! Yes, had a familiar ‘ring’ as I was reading it…. πŸ˜‰ Hugs! ❀

    Like

  11. Beautiful, sad. I loved it and hated it at the same time, because unfortunately I know too many women who have gone through this. A few have new diamonds to prove they survived the affair (odd word for it) and that makes me even sadder.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, I can’t say for sure, but I’d like to think my self-respect couldn’t be bought! But I guess until you have to walk in those shoes…

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Not your normal valentine’s sentiment but a fun read! Traitorous slumber, indeed!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Well unless you consider planning someone’s demise romantic…it could be!! HA. Perhaps a follow-up after the demise? πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  14. So well written, Diane. I wonder how many relationships fizzle out in this way. One partner often suffers at the other’s expense.

    Like

  15. I hope you never get bored or we might see you on America’s list of Most Wanted black widows!! πŸ˜€ I love writing about murder. I only wrote one for my blog but I wrote 500 pages long hand about murder.
    I knew you were just thinking of a way to entertain us this week! xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

