Slow Curve, A Book Review…

I’m delighted to introduce the first book review by a librarian friend of mine who will be guest posting on my blog.  I think I promised you early this year that Lynn would be doing this, but apparently she was too busy travelling and swimming and just plain relaxing after she and her husband both retired to get any work done for the blog!  She’s on board now, so watch for her reviews to pop up on a regular basis…

Upcoming reviews will probably be mysteries, but I’ve told her I’m open to anything she’d like to post and that as a former librarian, we look forward to reading her opinions on whatever books she chooses!

Slow Curve on the Coquihalla (A Hunter Rayne Highway Mystery, #1)Slow Curve on the Coquihalla by R.E. Donald

Lynn’s rating: 4 of 5 stars

If I hadn’t discovered the Hunter Rayne mysteries I would never have known about the mosquitoes in Alaska, 35 varieties of them. That turned out to be useful information for my trip to Alaska this past summer.

Hunter Rayne is a former officer of the RCMP. A serious case of burnout causes him to retire from the force and take to the road as a long-haul trucker. Despite his change of careers, Hunter can’t seem to help tripping over dead bodies and other mysteries on his routes through western Canada and Alaska. His detective skills won’t allow him to stay out of an investigation.

Equipment breakdowns and personal baggage (an ex-wife and emotionally distant daughters), complicate things but Hunter, like the Mountie he was, always gets his man.

Slow Curve on the Coquihalla is the first title in this series, followed by Ice on the Grapevine. I believe there are four in the series so far. It’s not necessary to read them in order, but if you don’t you will miss a bit of the character development and the slow revelation of what contributed to Hunter Rayne’s departure from the police force. The setting will make you want to plan a trip to Canada or Alaska, but don’t forget to pack your mosquito repellent.

3 responses

  1. This sounds like something I’d love to read – thanks for posting!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It does sound like a good read. I trust Lynn’s judgment on this…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this part of the world. I may have to check this out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

