Me and JP, Conversations with a Four Year Old…

20160816_12453220160816_12440020160816_124417_001JP is my 4 year old grandson. He and his mom and dad and their English bulldog lived with us for several months while their new house was being built.  One of the best things about having them here was spending time talking with him.  It makes me hopeful for the next generation.  He is so wise and so much fun!   You can find all my Me and JP stories here.

 

JP:  Nana, want to play something?

Me:  How about we we play with this farm sticker book?

JP:  Sure, Nana.  This is the mama cow and this one is the daddy cow.

Me:  Well, I think you call the daddy cow a bull.

JP:  No, this is a daddy cow cause he’s bigger.

Me:  But do you see this pink bag under the cow?  That’s called an udder.

JP:  Yep, that’s where the cow gives us milk.

Me:  That’s right, you are so smart!  You squeeze there to get milk.  And the mama cows give us milk.

JP:  And you squeeze to get meat.

Me:  Well, no, honey, just milk.

JP:  Then how does the cow share his meat with us?

I look at my son, shades of deja vu, because years ago when he was 4 or so he asked me how animals protected their meat from hunters.  I think he thought the cows stood in front of stacks of plastic wrapped steaks and ground beef at the grocery store.

Me:  Let’s ask Daddy.

Daddy:  His muscles, buddy.  He shares his muscles.

JP:  Want to see my muscles, Daddy?

Whew, crisis averted.  I remember the day I found out where eggs came from and didn’t want to eat them for weeks.  I still don’t like to think about it too much!

###

 

 

32 responses

  1. How awesome. What a great way to put it. Way to go, dad.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, nanas should not have to answer the tough questions!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. On his way to a vegetarian lifestyle ??? No matter when/how he finds out…your conversations are just adorable. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! He’s so like his daddy was at that age.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Kids are just awesome. 😃

    Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s a great thing. 😃

        Like

  4. Oh my goodness! I get a little queasy thinking about eggs to this very day… And seriously, if I lived on a farm I’d have to be a vegetarian!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My mom grew up on a farm and talked about making the mistake of naming the animals… I seriously could skip meat, not big on it except for the need for protein 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I could too. Except for bacon!

        Liked by 3 people

  5. Oh how precious! I hope you’re feeling well, sista.

    Like

    1. Thanks, sis! I’m really good this week. Went back to the gym yesterday!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Fun time. Sticky situation. Great save, Dad!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, I figured I shouldn’t have to deal with the tough questions!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Precious!! Wondered how you were going to handle this dilemma. Thanks for the chuckle. I have similar conversations with my 3 soon to be 4 year old grandson.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, that age is the best, isn’t it?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Definitely! He keeps me in stitches.

        Like

  8. I love the “Let’s ask Daddy” part. Made me smile. Gonna remember that when I become a gramma. ❤

    Like

  9. So sweet and so cute! Thanks for this Diane!

    Like

  10. Aren’t they just the best thing! Lucky for us we don’t eat meat and my 4 year old grandson has never had meat or milk so we don’t have to have that conversation! But my back up is always, Ask your Daddy! Hope you’re doing well!

    Like

  11. Delightful! Pardon me, I have to go squeeze a cow now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, sometimes we nanas get the tough questions! 🙂

      Like

  12. That is funny, it made me giggle. Vivian.j

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Viv! I’m glad you liked it!

      Like

  13. Eggs come from the store. End of store-y. (That’s all I need or want to know…) Glad to hear you are working out again Diane!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, exactly, Bruce! Have to tread carefully as the nana! I’m glad to be working out some, too.

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Great photographs and some very sweet conversations too. Kids ask the best–and sometimes the worst!–questions. Incidentally, I may not have that boiled egg tomorrow after all.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😀 He is so smart and then five minutes later he’s talking about goose poop!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s young kids, I guess. 🙂

        Like

  15. Children, they are amazing

    Like

Leave a Reply

