Descent, Part 2

airplane-1209752_1280

I struggled to open my eyes, I’d been so sound asleep.  Or something.  My head is totally foggy and my mouth feels dry and cottony.  I realize I’m in the back seat of a car, a limo by the looks of it, all sleek and black with a glass partition upfront.  And it feels like we’re moving…

My family is nowhere in sight. “Hey, where am I?” I’m so annoyed that I’m shouting, which only makes my head hurt worse.  Or maybe I don’t say anything out loud, and the yelling is inside my head.  I grab for a bottle of water to ease the dryness in my mouth, then roll my eyes at my foolishness.  Drinking something I found on this crazy ass ride would definitely not be a good idea.

Of course, there’s no answer.  I force my eyes to open again and struggle to sit upright.  I remember the Norfolk airport, the TSA agent who patted me down and our descent into Chicago, when I felt woozy.   But after that, nothing…

What on earth happened?  And where is anyone else from our flight?  I instinctively reach back and touch my neck where it had stung, and my fingers find a small lump, a tiny lump that still feels sore and swollen.  I press on it and draw my hand away quickly at the sting of pain.

Feeling more awake, I scoot forward a little in my seat and rap weakly on the glass partition. Nothing.  Now I’m not only confused, I’m getting angry.  How dare someone do this to me?  Drug me and kidnap me, and really, for what possible reason?  I’m a middle school school secretary from the suburbs.  I don’t have any enemies.  I’m a mom and wife with an old dog and I’m on summer break from my job to be home with the kids.

Suddenly I feel the car come to a smooth stop and as I’m fumbling to undo my seatbelt, the door flies open.  When I see the man reaching in for me, my mouth opens in shock, but no words come out..

24 responses

  1. Okay, keep it coming!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahhhhhhhh! More! More! This is great, Dee!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I was waiting for you to say it was all a dream, but maybe not?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nope, not a dream, but hopefully unexpected!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. It was very beautiful. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  5. What happens next?!? Ooooo I’m loving this 🙂

    Like

  6. Hmmmmm…who is he?? 🙂

    Like

  7. Ooh.. love the mystery! Anxious to read more!

    Like

  8. A mystery! Great start to the weekend. I hope your feeling well Diane.

    Like

  9. Aw, man, is that all? C’mon, don’t leave us hanging … (heh, I see what you did there–cliffhanger 😀 )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 🙂 or good place to figure out what comes next!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh, I would not want to be in her place.

    Like

  11. Whoo-hoo. When do we get Part 3?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Soon, Oneta, I think on Monday! Thanks for reading!

      Like

  12. Oh I’m glad you reposted these…yes you can’t leave us hanging…what shocked her?? Or I should ask who??? Do tell… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No, I’ll continue. Maybe Monday 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Seat belt properly fastened here. Ready for the ride…

    Liked by 1 person

  14. VictoryInTrouble | Reply

    OOh, I wonder who it is!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

