Descent, Part 1…

airplane-1209752_1280

I previously posted this in the summer.  I’m hoping reposting will force me to write an ending! 

We are a good 20 minutes early beginning our descent into Chicago.  As usual, when we left Virginia, the airport in Norfolk near all the Navy bases was on high alert.  Our hands were dusted for explosive residue before we got through security.  I stood in the full body scanner, assuming the position with my feet on the footprints, arms above my head.

We were patted down, me by a female TSA agent who touched only my right shoulder and the back neck of my top. I looked at her, curious what she could be looking for, but she only smiled and nodded at me, saying “Have a nice day.”  I smiled back, just glad to move through the line so quickly.  My son said they must have seen the tag from my shirt.

The flight was uneventful, less than two hours of non-turbulent skies, a little pack of pretzels because two people on board had severe peanut allergies, and a quick drink before the flight attendants announced it was time to put away our electronic devices and put our seats in an upright position.

I began to notice a warm stinging sensation at the back of my neck.  I started to reach back, but my right arm felt strangely heavy and I couldn’t seem to raise my hand properly.  My eyes were burning, my vision had gone blurry.  I remember thinking something was terribly wrong…then I don’t remember thinking…

(To be continued…)

22 responses

  1. You have to let us know what happens, Dee! Now, get going and WRITE! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I will, promise. Finally a little better today after stupid chemo…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It must really be exhausting, Dee. But it’s getting better each day, right?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, it’s not horrible, more annoying. Bothering my stomach and then yesterday was my day to feel sorry for myself, which didn’t help. By I’m better today 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. VictoryInTrouble | Reply

    I would really like to know what happens!! 😀

    Like

  3. Me too, me too!

    Like

  4. sitting on the edge of my seat now!

    Like

  5. Damn! Now I can’t sleep! But that’s okay. I definitely look forward to tomorrow or sooner?
    Glad to hear that you’re feeling better today. And if you don’t feel like posting tomorrow well, I GUESS I can wait till the next day! 🙂

    Like

  6. I’m with the rest of the gang here, sis. I NEED TO KNOW NOW.

    Like

  7. Want to know what happens next!

    Like

  8. Dunt, dunt dah (Musically saying)

    Like

  9. You can Diane! Great story, the ending is right there for you!

    Like

  10. Yes please share your ending..I highly dislike unresolved solutions 🙂

    Like

  11. I remember reading this!! Keep going please!

    Like

  12. Love this. Think I remember reading it earlier but still so so good …

    Like

  13. Please give us more, this is so good.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I am intrigued! Will wait patiently for more!

    Like

  15. Diane, let’s light this candle! Like where this may be landing…

    Like

Leave a Reply

