A Brewing Storm…a 100 word story

landscape-342149_1280

She thought she knew exactly what she wanted in life and had clung to her certainties tenaciously.  Life had drifted into a calm, settled routine, somewhat boring, but whose life wasn’t by the time they had reached 50?

Something grew in the back of her mind, just out of reach, something that she knew she could love desperately, if only it would become clearer.  Her discontent became apparent in her appearance.  Tears came easily.  She began to second-guess everything her husband said and did.  He never reached for her, seldom even talked with her beyond pleasant exchanges.

She plotted and waited.

By Diane D.

I’m fine, it’s just a story… 

61 responses

  1. It’s a powerful story, Diane! 💜

    Like

  2. Oh middle age… it does creep up on you and you look around and go “hang on, what just happened here?” And then you have to figure out what to do next. I love this story. Oh and the disclaimer! 😀 (emailed you a couple ideas…)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks,sorry, I was out a lot! Thought I’d save time cause nice people here worry 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Amazing story!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, doll! Hope your weekend is good!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Too soon to tell – lol

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Delightful, Diane! Hugs! ❤

    Like

  5. Glad to see this is just a story. 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Got the seahorses, gorgeous! Sent you an email and pictures, love em!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, awesome! I was hoping they’d get to you before leaving. Glad you like them. Hope the color scheme and such works for your room. They were intact I hope?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I sent you an email with pictures, color choices were perfect!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I just read the email, and replied. 😕

        Like

  6. Intriguing hook at the end! Well written x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Al! Maybe poison, hmm?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m thinking you’ve given this some thought!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. That’s a great way to end it 🙂 The plotting thickens.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. A Brewing Storm indeed!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading, Jan!

      Like

  9. Ooooh…she plotted and waited…now you have me wanting to know more!!! I laughed right out loud at your disclaimer at the end…glad to know everything is fine!! hehe 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. people are so sweet and assume something is wrong. thought I’d save a little time 🙄

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are right…smart thinking!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  10. I love this and I think you should continue! Maybe in 100-word installments… I was thinking about doing a story like that — all 100-word posts. Seems like it would take less time but in the end, it would probably take more…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, I don’t know. The first one is relatively easy. But yeah, after that, I think it would get harder!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oooh, you know this might be a good thing for a collaboration! Start new, of course… Maybe the 3 of us… you, Meg, me… 100 words each… rotating weeks.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh, now that sounds like fun! And it could just go in a million directions 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      3. And it would probably go in all of them… hahaha!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Can you imagine? I bet it would be a riot!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Maybe it could be our own mini soap opera… we could keep it going as a weekly feature forever… HA!

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Yep, just like General Hospital. Or something fabulous on Telemundo 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      7. I always wanted to write for Telemundo. But my real dream job would be to name the OPI nail polishes! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Hahaha! That would be great fun! I would love to write for a soap… because I could keep my characters for a long time even if my favorites weren’t always the focus… that would be awesome!

        Liked by 1 person

  11. You write the best stuff…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I’m glad you like it! It’s kind of fun for me, these little stories…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I love your openness to writing ❤️ It’s inspiring. I almost wrote a poem the other day…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh, my, gosh, this is the perfect place to post and get feedback. When you’re ready, just put it out there. People here are so nice!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Maybe I’ll get brave… 😊

        Like

  12. Mysticalwriter | Reply

    So happy to see the last sentence, yes some people do automatically go to , “oh no, what happened?” in their minds.( I am guilty of doing that same thing.) I believe that some writers take from their own experience & write on it! To me, I believe it is a way to get rid of the ugliness of the relationship & a healing & closure all at the same time. Most often the book turns out to be a winner.
    Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m thinking she might poison him or something that would fake a heart attack 😉

      Like

  13. Great work Diane! I was glad to see the P.S. – jus sayin 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Hon. I’ve found people worry — I would — when they read s story like that. Figured I’d save time 🙂

      Like

  14. Short and sweet! Love it, Diane.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Lydia. I love these short ones!

      Liked by 1 person

  15. I like this. Short and dangerous. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I’m thinking poison 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Really fine. It says so much, but so concisely.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Have a great weekend!

      Like

  17. It;s funny how we’re all quick to make sure everyone knows we’re okay!! Awesome story, Diane!! Well written 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. I’ve noticed my WP friends really worry 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Amazing story and so well written! Love the hook at the end and the disclaimer 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Thank you for adding that disclaimer. I was getting worried for a second. That’s a strong story you’ve got going.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. well, it’s not that I’m always happy with hubby, but I’m not plotting anything yet 😀

      Like

  20. Great work. With women like that I tend to sleep with one eye open and one hand on my crotch.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol! However, not sleeping with women like that would also be an option 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wow, never thought of that. lol Dudes are idiots.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

