I Might Be In Your Spam…

spam-909485_1920

Yuck, and no one wants to be there!  If I’m one of your blog followers, could you do me a favor and check your spam to see if any of my comments might be there?  I usually try to comment on the sites I follow.  Lately, almost every week someone tells me they have found my comments in spam.  Yesterday my friend Meg (Dr. Meg Sorick) sent me a note that as she was responding to another comment, one of my comments disappeared from her site and moved into her spam!

I’ve checked with WordPress, filled out forms with Akismet, and they’re not seeing an obvious reason why this is happening. Although I’m flattered to be singled out, I think I’d rather you could see the comments I wrote!

Thanks, I appreciate you taking the time.  I try to check my spam folder at least a couple times a week and I have occasionally found legitimate comments there.   If anyone has any ideas on this, I’d love to hear them…

 

45 responses

  1. I’ve opted not to get a-mail notifications anymore…. (Too much hassle with them) I keep in touch via the ‘Reader’. Getting you loud and clear in the ‘Reader’. Hugs! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Just found a couple of yours in spam, along with Elizabeth (who is my top commenter, but still got spammed) and Geoffles. WordPress being very naughty…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s crazy lately! Thanks for checking

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I thought I’d checked it recently, but apparently not – was glad of the reminder!

        Like

  3. Funny you should mention that, I just found 30 comments from people in my spam. I wonder what happened the past couple of days.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You’re showing up fine in my comments. It’s weird what ends up in spam sometimes though. People I’ve conversed with for months now will suddenly have one of their comments go to spam. I suspect I do too on theirs at times. Go figure. 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, crazy, right? Thanks for checking!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s weird. But WP gets wacky sometimes I’ve noticed.

        Like

  5. I just found 4 valid comments in my spam folder… But none of yours. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This happened to me as well. It’s totally random and a pain in the butt to get fixed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. How do you fix it? I’ve filled out two forms for Akismet already…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I filled out the Akismet form and then had to wait about a week before I didn’t end up in spam filters. It coincided when my old blog was at its busiest. I would visit lots of blogs each day, and I suspect that my activity may have triggered some sort of alarm, identifying me as spam. Just a hunch, though.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That could be it. I try to comment on lots of blogs…

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I hope they get this straightened out! What a sucky predicament! 😦

    Like

  8. You’ve been spammed in the past on my blog, but not recently.
    What’s weird is that a few days ago I had comments from another blogger. She and I were going back and forth on some topic, and her very last comment was spammed. It was so weird, as it was just an emoji!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know. Isn’t it strange?

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I had a bunch in mine too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m hoping it gets better now that I appealed to Akismet, the spam people.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Me too! It must be a bug or something, because a few followers were in my spam.

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Sigh! I totally understand. Happened to me once , and akismet people helped me out. You can contact them.I will keep a watch on my spam anyways. Wouldn’t want to miss your lovely comments ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, my love! I did fill out the Akismet form twice now and they said they are looking into it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. They should be able to 😊 Don sweat it out too much. Now that the word is out, everyone will keep a watch over their spam as well!

        Liked by 1 person

  11. Checked. Nothing in Spam. WordPress fault. I did nothing to fix it. It was automatically fixed in 4-5 days.
    But I think it’s your turn :))
    Mine was in May. Check this!
    https://lookaround99.wordpress.com/2016/05/12/tacerea-mea-e-in-spam-my-silence-is-in-the-spam-box/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, we must take turns, LOL!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. You popped up there the other day. I hope not to find you there again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t get it, meg said she was reading her comments a day ago and mine came up and then disappeared into her spam. Hopefully akismet will fix it…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know with my messages, sometimes I accumulate too many. For example, I haven’t looked at my word press since Wednesday. There are so many messages waiting for me, I am certain 30 or 40 completely disappeared from the inbox. They will all show up in a day or two. Glitches in WordPress.

        Like

      2. I’m guessing you’re right…

        Liked by 1 person

  13. My spam trap was loaded up, including your comments.

    Like

  14. I’ll have to look. I wrote a nice story I thought you would’ve commented on and I didn’t see anything from you, which I thought was odd.

    A few days ago, one of Miri’s comments to me went to spam. I thought that was so weird.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t see any in spam. 🙂

      Like

  15. Hi Diane, just checked my Spam and none of your comments were there so all good. But I know a lot of mine have ended up in others spam folders 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s crazy, thanks for checking!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No worries at all. Hope you’re having a good week Diane. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  16. I always check my spam after finding so many comments in there! no fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I’m glad you mentioned it because I found somebody else’s legitimate comment in my Spam folder, but you were okay. Incidentally, I had the same problem a couple of months back, but it seemed to clear up by itself.

    Like

    1. I’m glad you rescued some people!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

