Milky Way Cake Recipe …

 

20160427_193054

My 3 1/2 year old grandson, JP, sent me this adorable flower cupcake for my birthday today  ❤

We went to dinner last night for his daddy’s (oldest son’s) birthday and then back to our house for Milky Way cake, a recipe passed down from my mother-in-law that my boys always request for their birthdays or holidays.   It’s so good and birthday calories don’t count, right?

Here’s the recipe:

Milky Way Cake (makes 2 three layer cakes!)

8 regular size Milky Way bars

2 sticks butter

2 cups sugar

1 cup pecans (optional)

4 eggs

1/2 t. baking soda

1 ¼ cup buttermilk

2 cups all-purpose flour

Cream one stick butter and sugar and set aside. Melt one stick butter and candy bars in double boiler until candy is melted.  Beat eggs into sugar and butter one at a time.  Put baking soda in buttermilk, then add to melted candy bar mixture (take off of heat).  Add chocolate mixture to butter and sugar and beat, then add flour a little at a time and beat to combine.  Add nuts, chopped, if using.

Put into three round 8 inch pans, greased and floured, and bake at 325 degrees for 30 – 40 minutes.

(You will need to make this recipe twice for each recipe of frosting and to make two three-layer cake

 Frosting

2 ½ cups sugar

1 small can  (5 oz.) evaporated milk

1 stick butter

6 oz. chocolate chips

1 (7 oz.) jar marshmallow fluff

Cook sugar and milk over medium heat (until soft ball stage) about 4 minutes after it comes to a boil, stirring constantly. Add 1 stick butter, chocolate chips, marshmallow fluff, beat until smooth.  Cool until almost cold before frosting cakes.

The cakes freeze well, frosted or unfrosted, wrapped well in plastic wrap and then foil.

40 responses

  1. The flower cupcake is adorable! I love it!

    And the cake… Oh my God… I want to make it right now! I have a Milky Way cake recipe, but it’s not this one. I should dig that one up, too! And make 4 cakes. Ha!! I’m going to need guests so I don’t eat all of it. Please give me a few hours to shop and bake. 😉

    Like

  2. It’s why I will only make it for holidays or our birthdays — it feeds a village! The cupcake is so cute!

    Like

  3. Love that flower cupcake! How adorable!! Hmmm a milky way cake huh, I’ll have to try that…thanks for sharing the recipe.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hubby’s mom made it all the time and my kids love it. Probably like a million calories!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lol!! Oh well as you said there are no calories in birthday cakes, right! 😉

        Like

  4. There goes my diet, this is going under faves! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You have to have a crowd for this, that’s for sure! It’s a lot of cake, but so good… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Well I know that’s what I need a million calories, Not 😉 But I’m going to try the cake when the boys come home ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep, you need a lot of people to eat it! Hubby is from TN and its his mama’s recipe…

      Like

      1. Those southern momma’s always have the best recipes !!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Yum! Any chance I could reblog this? I’m going to start doing recipes… 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Of course you can, sounds fun. Look forward to getting some new recipes!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Woo hoo!!!! Miriam (Outnabout) shared a dessert recently and it sparked an idea for recipes. 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Cool, you’ll do a great job I’m sure! Thanks

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Aw! You’re awesome! I hope to share my grandma’s recipes!

        Like

  7. Sounds amazing! Except the pecans because I’m allergic, but I guess that’s why it says optional!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely, I don’t usually use them because my boys don’t love them in the cake. It’s great either way!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Holy mackerel! Nom, nom, nom, nom….. Drool, flurgh……

    Like

  9. What a gorgeous cup cake. As for that recipe, wow, I want to make it. We’re all huge Milky Way fans in our household. Now if my daughter’s birthday cake tomorrow wasn’t already ordered …. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Miri, it really is a yummy cake, so rich. Maybe next year!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Or maybe even sooner! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  10. the flower cupcake made me smile int he reader – and I had to come and let you know – also Happy Bday

    Liked by 1 person

  11. How adorable. JP’s a sweetie 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I’m on a meatless diet right now, but Milky Ways are ok last time I checked…

    Like

    1. Thank goodness, right? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Lynn. It is and practically no calories 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I read that before the recipe, wow that is good to know, one of those special cakes xx

        Liked by 1 person

  13. That flower cupcake is just amazing! Belated birthday wishes, by the way!
    And thank you for the awesome recipe, I am going to try it out sometime.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Rashmi! I hope you like the cake, my boys love it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My son is a huge fan of my baking, so I hope he likes this one too! 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

