#atozchallenge, T is for Taurus…

cow-56014_960_720

The Bull. Ruling planet: Venus. Element: Earth. Quality: Practical. Ability: Persistence.
According to the Old Farmer’s Almanac, this is the Taurus personality :

You are the most grounded members of the zodiac. Able to see the practical side of matters, you can be counted upon not only to do the job right, but to do it thoroughly as well. While it may sometimes take you a while to gain momentum, your gift is the determination and persistence that carries you along once you have begun. You have staying power.

If you were born on April 27: (This is my actual birth date, in case I haven’t mentioned it enough!)  You are stubborn but not quarrelsome. You are fair with people and expect, in return, fairness. You are strong-willed, and your head very definitely rules your heart.

I’m not sure how I feel about this.  I’ve written a little poem about it and if you want to check your sign out, you can find it here at the Old Farmer’s Almanac.

 

An Ode to the Boring Taurean

That’s my sign, not sure I agree with it

But the stars proclaimed, so the traits must fit

Persistent and plodding, Taureans gets things done

When sometimes they’d rather be silly and fun

(Or maybe it’s all just a pile of bullshit 😉 )

Diane D.                                                                       Photo from Pixaby

(My A to Z Challenge theme is birthdays.)

68 responses

  1. Well, fellow Taurus, I think we are very special. To be counted on is not to be taken lightly. And as your poem so truly deconstructs Taureans do have a lighter side go ask Ferdinand the bull.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Bernadette, for your lovely comments! We Taureans are special and happy birthday to you!

      Like

  2. Well, Taureans must have a great sense of humor, because your poem made me laugh out loud. Happy Birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, I like to think we do, in our own practical, grounded way 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yea for us! My horoscope never quite fit me either, but I like being the Bull. The Stars might lie a little bit, but I think us spring babies are pretty cool.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Of course we are the best!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ha! I am a Taurus too!! I think in my case it applies too well! 😉 Might be my saving grace.. Cinco de Mayo for me 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cool, yes tenacity is good!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. What a terrific and fun post. Your birthday is two days before my daughter’s. Enjoy. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, the 29th is my youngest son’s birthday. He thinks its the best day!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha So does my daughter!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Awesome! No bull 😜

    Like

  7. Great piece, very bullish ! ☺

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Love it! Love the poem!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Super post, Diane! Delightful little poem…nothing ‘bullish’ about it…. 😉 Hope you have a fab birthday. Hugs! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I understand. I’m a Cancer. I am supposed to be an emotional mess who stays home all the time. 😡

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Well, that did fit my mom, lol. But, yes, I’m hoping were a little more individual than this!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I don’t believe in horoscopes.
    But then I would say that.

    Typical Libran.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. See? Can’t fight the stars or planets or whatever. EVERY word of mine is true!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m happy that you believe that! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Of course, because everything you read online has to be true, right?

        Liked by 1 person

  12. My husband is a Taurus (5/17) and yeah, it takes him a while to gain momentum. And he’s stubborn as hell. And often, full of bull. 😀 😀 😀 I am Gemini… twins… never know which me you’re gonna get. There may be some truth to that… But it probably has nothing to do with my birthday… LOL

    Liked by 2 people

    1. 🙂 Are you kidding, EVERY word is true!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Put a check mark next to me! I’m a Bull, too!. And, that’s my B-Day, 5/17!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Another of the herd, then:) Happy upcoming birthday to you, too!

        Liked by 1 person

  13. This post is just bull. (That joke was too obvious and I’m sorry I made it.)

    Like

    1. It wasn’t your best effort…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I let all the creative blood drain from my veins already this morning. And my apartment still isn’t clean. I’m hoping Waco will request my presence at any moment do I have an excuse to leave it…

        Like

      2. Cleaning is for other people, were too creative to waste our time with that!

        Liked by 1 person

  14. I’m a Taurus too! Though I couldn’t get the specific bit for my birth date. I’ve always thought being a Taurus was a good thing. I never thought of it as boring…I think of it as stable.

    Huh. I’m such a Taurus.

    @IsaLeeWolf
    A Bit to Read

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yep. A lot of self-realization today. A LOT.

        Liked by 1 person

  15. That closing line though. 😄😄A good sense of humour must be in the stars.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, my dear Jackie, one needs a sense of humor no matter what sign!

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Great post!
    I went to the Farmers Almanac and read the stuff about my sign – it read like a puppy Advertisement, slightly indifferent to others, but plays well in groups and tolerant of all types. I’m a good puppy for a large family. Hee- hee😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, what could be nicer than that? 🙂 Thank you!

      Like

  17. I’ll take the description of persistent over obstinate 🙂 Another bull 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, we’re only good things, right? Happy birthday to you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Happy birthday to you too, and the rest of the herd that is gathering 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh, that is perfect!! Love it!!

        Like

  18. I’m a flakey two faced Gemini!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, the stars don’t lie, lol! (I’m sure it’s not true!)

      Like

  19. My daughter is a Taurus and you certainly need to watch out for her horns if she is rattled..ha ha….Me… I’m a perfect Virgo..ha ha..take horoscopes etc with just a pinch of the proverbial salt…the Almanac one however, the first statement it made was actually spot on…mmmmm. I hope you have a lovely birthday 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Yes, we Taurus can be a handful! I love reading my horoscope but it’s usually just general enough to apply to almost anybody and any situation:)

      Liked by 1 person

  20. This is a hoot as are you. Happy early birthday.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, my friend! Glad you like my sense of humor 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  21. Haha, nice one! Astrology is so much fun isn’t it. Happy early birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love it — you can always make it fit somehow, if you try 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Or, if it doesn’t fit, you can just blow it off and say it’s nonsense 🙂 Other times it’s 100% right lol

        Like

    1. Glad you liked it, Lynn 🙂

      Like

  22. I like your version of Taurus, Diane. I know you saw my artist brother, Randy. He is a Taurus and definitely a rare breed! No plodding nor boring person, he NOR YOU!! You are exciting and interesting and dynamic, Diane. In fact your nickname could be Dynamic D. 🙂 I like that you help children and listen to them, being an assistant teacher is VERY important and NOT boring, either! Smiles and hugs, Robin xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Robin. I’m not sure how much of Taurus stuff fits really 🙂 it also says we’re financial whizzes and I’m so bad with numbers! But I’m fascinated with horoscopes, go figure…

      Like

Leave a Reply

