#atozchallenge, K is for Kiddos…

I bet you’re thinking this doesn’t really fit my birthday theme, but in my house it does!  We weren’t married very long when we found out we were expecting our first child, who was due April 19 or thereabouts.  Back then, it wasn’t as scientific or specific as it is nowadays.  We were thrilled and a little bit nervous.  Is anyone really prepared to go through the months of pregnancy, labor, delivery and then having that sweet little bundle placed in your arms, a little person that you are now totally responsible for?  Not me, that’s for sure.

But I couldn’t wait for that baby to be born.  And wait I did until early on April 26th when we finally went to the hospital and oldest son was born at one minute past noon.   I stayed over the next day and we joked about what a wonderful birthday present he made, because April 27 is my birthday.

A few years later, we were expecting again and my due date was May 20.  Second son totally caught us by surprise with his early and complicated arrival on April 29 at 1:05 a.m., barely two days after my birthday.  He is special needs and there was a lot going on in the early months and years, but we still laughed about him being another birthday gift.

It was at that point that I told hubby I thought we had enough kiddos and I’d be perfectly happy with jewelry as gifts in the future!

~Diane D.

Photo:  me and oldest son

(My AtoZ Challenge theme is birthdays.)

54 responses

  1. Beautiful post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aw, this is sweet! You look beautiful with your little present! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! They just had to horn in on my day, lol

      Liked by 1 person

  3. And it’s much easier to change jewelry! Lovely post.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this!

    Much better than jewelry, if you ask me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Well, at first, but then it got old after awhile , lol!

      Like

  5. Aw, this is a lovely post x

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Kiddos are gifts! Lovely post. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, but there’s a limit, you know? And hubby got out of gifts those two years, so he owes me!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. He! He!!! Jewelry…he owes you jewelry! LOL

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Best gifts ever though, right? My olest as ue on my birthday but came 11 days early. 😃

    Like

    1. Yes, I joke, but it’s true, they are my greatest gifts, along with hubby!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Truly gorgeous ‘Birthday Post’…..Thanks for sharing with us…..Great presents you had…and still have…. 😉 Hugs! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, yes, they are wonderful sons!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Beautiful, Diane. My son arrived on his exact due date, 30 years ago today. ☺ Friends didn’t quite believe it at the time.

    Like

    1. Thank you, I remember thinking my due date was set in stone and I was so disappointed when I was late, lol

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Wonderful post for K. They are a blessing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, dear friend, that they are!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. You have got a great skill of making nice things nicer with your words. Beautiful post and, the last line made me smile… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, thank you so much for saying that, how sweet of you!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. A perfect birthday story!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you I’m glad you liked it!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. I love this!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. You do look like a yummy mummy 😉 That photo is the height of cuteness. And perfect story as well 🙂 I know a couple of friends who had kids on their bday and wedding anniversary 😀 And great point with the last sentence 😉 D for Diane and Diamonds ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Minaxin! I look peaceful even though my son is crying, don’t I, lol?

      Like

      1. Haha. You look like you have got it all together 😉

        Like

  15. Lovely post and lovely photo!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome. Beautiful picture.

        Like

  16. What a lovely post! Wow two special babies! Is that you in the picture? interesting Arab ladies get gold or a special present when they deliver!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is me and oldest (JP’s daddy). I’m looking very calm, aren’t I, not even caring that he’s crying lol. Oldest son got his wife jewelry when JP was born, three thin rings with each of their birthstone. I guess that’s a new thing…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That is so sweet! A very beautiful picture!

        Liked by 1 person

  17. K is for kissing kids, too. The photo of you looks professional, Diane. Nicely explaining birthdays in April. I am glad your son who came early was able to grow up and be part of your family. April is blessings in your household! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Robin. We are doing well. I don’t know who took the picture, probably hubby. I look so peaceful while baby is crying, great mom, right? That is JP s daddy, btw!

      Like

  18. Diane, you look so gorgeous with your darling birthday present. What a sweet post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, thank you. That is JP’s daddy!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aww! How sweet. Now you’ve got darling smart JP too 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  19. Great post and wonderful picture. I can just hear you telling hubby about the jewelry present. Sounds like something I would have said myself.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 🙂 enough is enough, right?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

