#atozchallenge, G is for Girlfriends…

 

253735bb180af77dd8550d9565d68b75

According to Wikipedia, Ladies who lunch is a phrase introduced by New York magazine in their January 1970 edition, often used to describe well-off, well-dressed women who meet for social luncheons.  Typically, the women are married, supported by their spouses and shop and lunch in upscale establishments.   I named my blog Ladies Who Lunch Reviews etc. with tongue firmly planted in my cheek 😀

My girlfriends — my ladies who lunch — are some of my best friends.   I’ve known many of them more than 20 years, some are newer friends, but they are all dear to me.  We do shop together, eat out together, take trips, go to the movies, parties, showers and weddings and celebrate holidays together.  We’ve also cooked for each other when someone’s been ill or in the hospital and supported each other through the deaths of many of our parents.

One of our special traditions is a girls-only birthday dinner where eight or nine of us treat the birthday girl to dinner at her favorite restaurant.

We spend hours talking and eating and sharing one or two fabulous desserts.  We take forever to figure out the check, usually involving someone’s phone calculator.  Yes, we do go to the restroom in pairs.  No, I don’t really know why.  We always have candles for the dessert and serenade the birthday girl, sometimes to the consternation of other diners around us.  And sometimes the other diners join in.  But thank goodness we’re old enough that we don’t care… 😉

~Diane D.                                          Cartoon found on Pinterest

(My A to Z Challenge theme is birthdays)

54 responses

  1. Great tribute to your friends….the ‘ladies’….Diane! Hugs! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, my friend. I’m lucky to have them!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like a great bunch of friends. You lucky ladies! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What an amazing group of friends… And a wonderful birthday tradition! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really is fun and I’m lucky to have them!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Fantastic! Lucky ladies indeed! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That’s a beautiful tradition to be cherished!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thanks, Rob, I’m lucky to have them!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Brilliant, as girlfriends should be!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, it’s wonderful to have that support system!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Knowing each other for 20 years through the ups and downs and still there for you. That’s what friends are for. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, it’s wonderful when you have that

      Liked by 1 person

  8. and these are the girls who’ll be with you forever…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We already talk about being the Golden Girls and sharing a house after our hubbies are gone, lol. Gotta have a plan, right?

      Like

  9. I have always disliked that phrase because it seemed to denote such a sense of entitlement but I, too, have a group of woman friends who lunch. And I don’t care what anyone calls us because their friendship has enriched my life more than I can every describe.

    Like

    1. Yes, I agree, we are lucky in that we don’t have to work. But we contribute a lot to our families and friendships in other ways!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. This is awesome. I’m so happy for you to have such a group!
    Might I add, that I love how you are approaching this A-Z challenge! It’s awesome. The three folks I follow who are doing it, ya’ll all have a different approach, and it’s just wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, thank you, ma’am! I’m enjoying it but I might like to be a bit more prepared next year, lol. It is forcing me to write something everyday, which is good!

      Liked by 2 people

  11. A lovely bunch to have and hold. Friends for a lifetime. Lovely tribute 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They are and we add to the group as things change, which is really nice!

      Like

  12. That’s terrific! Good, close friends are one of life’s gifts. 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They are lifesavers sometimes!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. That sounds lovely!!!! Good friends are so important, aren’t they! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They truly are my lifeline, especially when hubby is tired of listening 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Ladies only outings are always fun. We have so many things to discuss…hehe…
    And, nothing is more enjoyable than a long-lasting friendship. Good to know you have friends you know for 20 long years… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So true, we could talk for hours! I’m so lucky to have my friends!

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Smiling at this Diane! You are absolutely right!!! 😀

    Like

      1. Welcome my friend! 🙂

        Like

  16. Great choice D, G I R L F R I E N D S ❤ It's like your garden…

    Like

    1. Thanks, I do love them <3. And our group grows and changes, yes

      Like

      1. I need to get a group of friends, I’m just in a really strange place in my life right now. My father is dying, all my kids are grown and living their life and it’s just me and the husband. Oh and Miss Elsa, Bella and Mr.Louie (our new kitty) ❤ Hope I figure it out soon !!!!

        Like

      2. I’m so sorry to hear that, especially about your dad. Sending big hugs ❤

        Like

  17. LOVED your post ❤ and yes like many are echoing you are absolutely lucky to have this set of girlfriends and vice-versa for them to have you in their gang 🙂 I absolutely adore your birthday tradition 🙂 Sounds so much funn. I would have gladly joined your serenade for the birthday girl and will be on the lookout surely from now on 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! We do have fun and you can join us any time!

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Stopping by on the A-Z Challenge and so glad I did 🙂 I have recently been able to join in with many more social events and make friends outside of work and it is truly lovely and supportive as you rightly say!
    Pempi
    A Stormy’s Sidekick
    Special Teaching at Pempi’s Palace

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad. I will stop by your blog soon!

      Like

  19. Very sweet! Girlfriends are so important.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, they are like a lifeline for me!

      Liked by 1 person

  20. Hello hello! So happy to finally come around to your blog, and thank you for this tribute to Girlfriends! 😁
    Thank you also for visiting my blog, I look forward to sharing more between us! Happy alphabet blogging! 😁

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by. My girlfriend group occasionally changes but they are a never ending support system!

      Like

  21. I think it is wonderful that you have such a special group of women in your life. Good girlfriends are hard to find. My oldest friends and I get together for dinners or an occasional “girls” weekend. I always come home snickering and smiling. We are not upscale but we are fabulous!
    I am so glad we connected during this challenge. Keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, you, too. Girlfriends are the best!

      Liked by 1 person

  22. Ha I have had plenty of them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Not those kind, you big flirt!

      Liked by 1 person

  23. Great tribute! My ladies who lunch crew have all moved away recently so skype is the closest we can get to this beauty!

    Like

Leave a Reply

