Monday Musings…

 

20151110_171507

Dinosaurs on a dishtowel, after swimming in the kitchen sink…

That’s just one thing I’m going to miss now that oldest son and daughter-in-law have moved out, taking my little JP and Tank, the English Bulldog, with them.

I’ll also miss saying goodnight every evening…

Sitting down to big meals together…

Just hanging out on the weekends…

A 3-year-old running naked through the hallway after bath time…

Snuggles with JP on the couch before bedtime…

Slobbery bulldog kisses and butt wiggles (no tail to wag!)

And the chance to relive that wonderful time when your children still live at home…

But they need their own space and so do we. ย Their wonderful new home was finally ready and its only a 15 minute drive away so it’s not like we won’t see them often. ย  I’ll still babysit twice a week. ย And even though I’ll be sad for awhile, I wouldn’t have missed our time together for the world!

###

32 responses

  1. Oh, how I know his delightful feeling. Precious indeed.

    Like

    1. Thanks, wouldn’t trade our time together for anything!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No ma’am. We’ve been blessed to have our grand baby close by and we’ve been the babysitters from day one when parents go out. I don’t think I’ve ever experienced anything in live as wonderful as the joy of being a grandma. So different than being mom. Just cuddles and playtime.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. ๐Ÿ™‚ it is so special!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. You made me smile and feel nostalgic at the same time. Such precious times.

    Like

    1. Thanks, it’s a wonderful time, isn’t it?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It sure is. All those innocent times, thank God for photos and memories.

        Like

  3. I’ve been told that if I love having kids, just wait til I have grand kids. We are a ways off from that, I hope, but it sure sounds great. At least they’re staying close. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Grandkids are truly the best!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Aww! I will miss him too. He had you telling us all the lovely things. This is full of nostalgic feelings.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It did make me nostalgic!

      Like

  5. Aww, they’re gone! But not far away, at least. And I’m glad you’ll still have JP on Tues and Thurs. We’d miss your chats! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Naked babies running in the hall after the bath. Those are great memories. All the giggles. Sweet post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, I will miss them but they’re excited about their new house. Maybe I’ll just move there?

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Wonderful times indeed – and precious memories. You have to tell us what happens when you do babysit him. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. My granddaughter is only 5 months old but when I don’t see her for than a week I get antsy. They live farther away (40 minute drive) but when I’m not working I’m happy to make the drive. If they ever decide to move back to the city and they need a place to transition for awhile I’d love it if they stayed with us. You’re very lucky that they only live 15 minutes away.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am lucky! They lived with us several months and it was cozy but nice all around, other than 3 dogs that didn’t get along!

      Like

  9. I love the picture! It was a special time and I loved getting to hear about it! I am so glad they are close and you will make new memories. It is sentimental having them home again!! xx

    Like

    1. It was but we all needed our own space again (deep breath!)

      Like

  10. You know you’re a parent or grandparent when … you can identify two of the dinosaurs on the left instantly. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Truth. Justin corrects me when I’m wrong, lol.

      Like

  11. This was a pleasure to read. Have a lovely week.

    Like

  12. Dinosaurs drying on a dishtowel will happen, when he comes for an overnight with his special Nana! ๐Ÿ™‚ I feel your sadness and sending you hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, I know you understand.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. SO fortunate to have them that close.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s true, I am fortunate! Just babysat him today!

      Like

  14. How lovely to have shared that special time together x

    Like

    1. It really was nice though we’re happy to have our house back!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

