Personal Training, Part 4…

FB_IMG_1452698895222

You might know my story about hurting my knee and doing physical therapy and now working with a personal trainer because I’ve written about it before.  I like to say it was a sports injury, but it was more like I fell off my shoes on the stairs and somehow injured my right knee…

So now I’m actually paying Evil Personal Trainer Keith to make me feel like I’ve been beaten with a stick every Monday and Friday morning.  And this cold I have didn’t help things Monday, but I didn’t feel bad enough to skip a session, or so I thought.

Every day I’m there brings some fresh new hell of things to do. Monday it was push ups on a mat and planks on a big rubber exercise ball.  I tried to tell him that even before I hurt my knee I’d never done anything but the modified girl push ups on my knees,  you know what I mean, right?  But did EPT Keith care?  No, he did not.  So, once again, we did it his way, just because he has some internationally recognized CSCS certification…

And by the time I was doing the third set of reps of planks on the big rubber ball my arms were so sweaty I literally was sliding off.   And Keith stood there and said, “Come on, Diane, you can do it.  Just five more.”  And I said, “Really, do you think if you keep saying that it’s going to help?  If you want to help, hold the damn ball still and pull me up!”

And he did help, maybe because I scare him just a little.   And that thought makes me smile…

 

 

39 responses

  1. Great post. Physical therapy is such a contradiction. Best and highest return to health.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hahaha..I hope you’re not in pain anymore. You made me laugh.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m glad I made you laugh, but I am still a little bit sore 😉 I can tell I’m getting stronger though!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Good that you’re getting stronger 🙂

        Like

  3. I always call it torture therapy. I can so relate to ” falling off of your shoes.” I once dislocated my knee stepping out of the shower. I popped it back into place, ignored it until the next day, ended up in a full leg immobilizer cast. They sent me to a sports medicine orthopedic practice, where I was surrounded by young jocks. I told them I did it while bungee jumping. ☺

    Keep scaring that EPT, it will go better for you.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, I love that! Wish I’d thought of the bungee jumping reason 😀

      Liked by 2 people

    2. Between you and Diane, I get my good dose of weekly chuckle 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  4. You are inspiring. I’ve got to pay more attention to strength training, lest I become a hypocrite!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, thanks, wish I hadn’t slacked off on working out for a.few years. I hate starting over and this is really kicking my butt.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. But now your butt is going to be fabulous!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It had better be after all this work!!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I fell down three steps while in Alaska and broke all the bones in my ankle. My husband told everyone that I fell after jumping off a caribou while trying to escape from a mother bear when she was angry because I was playing with her cubs. I’m still in physical therapy and understand the pain of which you speak.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, awful injury but good story! Feel better soon. It’s a long road…

      Like

      1. Yes it is a long road, but the Lord has been present each step of the way . Actually, slough painful, the injury has been a blessing. However, next time I will watch steps more carefully.😉

        Like

    2. I know this must have hurt real bad, but I can’t stop laughing 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

    1. I am woman, hear me roar, lol!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I have little doubt EPT Keith looks forward to your sessions with “mixed emotions.”😃

    Liked by 2 people

    1. He’s a good sport, but a little fear is good for the young ones!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You have him right where you want him Diane!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. It would make me smile too if I were you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Don’t you just love PT… I know all about the evil personal trainers… I worked out with one that works with NFL players… I told him he had fell down and bumped his head if he thought I was doing that 🙂 and don’t get me started on the “ball of death” yep that right one of those dang things tried to kill me.. just saying… it met an untimely death.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hah hah, we are still in the hate part of our love/hate relationship. Don’t know if we’ll get past it. I tell him to wait till I’m stronger and can fight back lol

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I am sure you will miss Keith the day you stop working with him.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re right, it’s like blogging, friends everywhere!

      Like

  10. Oh Diane, you are one naughty girl! Keith has his hands full! I love this writing!!! Between Keith, talking to cutie pie and hearing about Jamie and Mike, I am hooked! xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are a doll, thank you! Wait till I tell you my cooking story!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Oh, is that how we’re supposed to use those big rubber balls? I was sitting on our one. I wasn’t doing anything while sitting, of course. I thought just perching on top of it was exhausting enough.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, my, there are apparently all kinds of tortuous things you can do with that ball! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Thanks! I really like your story. Keep on posting!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for stopping by. He’s fun to work wit, but I have a long way to go!

      Like

Leave a Reply

