Me & JP, Conversations with a 3-year-old…

20151005_103457

JP is my three-year-old grandson. He and his mom and dad and their English bulldog live with us while their new house is being built.  One of the best things about having them here is spending time talking with him.  It makes me hopeful for the next generation.  He is so wise and so much fun!  

We’ve all been fighting colds and guess who started it?  That’s right, my little JP.  His fever is gone but he’s still coughing and sounds like the cutest little foghorn!  His daddy left town on business today and to pass his germs on to a whole other state.  So sorry, airline passengers.   Mommy had to make some calls for work, so Papa and I were keeping an eye on the little one.  Papa was lying on the couch and JP and I were in the recliners in the family room.

Me:  So, did you go to “Make it and Take it” at the library today with Nana L?

JP:  Nana, I’m working on my tablet.  (Gee, I wonder where he hears that?)

Me:  Well, can’t you talk to me and play on your tablet?

JP:  No, you can talk to Papa.

Me:  Papa’s eyes are closed.  I think he’s resting.

JP:  PAPA!!

Papa:  What??

JP:  Look, Nana, his eyes are open!

###

Me:  Do you want Nana to make you some nice warm tea to drink?

JP:  Nana, tea is for grown ups.  And coffee is for grown ups.  Hot chocolate is for little kids.

Me:  Do you want me to make you some hot chocolate?

JP:  No, I want a Diet Coke.

Me:  Uhm, no.

###

JP:  Nana, are you sad?

Me:  I’m sad because you’re coughing so much.  I don’t like it when you feel bad.

JP:  Do you want me to hug you so you feel better?

Me:  Always…

###

 

36 responses

  1. He is definitely a very smart 3 year old who is funny, too. That “I’m busy here” tone from my own grandies makes me try hard to not laugh at. I don’t want to encourage them to ignore me. I like his request for a diet coke, another attempt at being mature beyond his years. I make hot tea for only one grandson who likes it, Diane. I used to like hot tea when I had a cold with lots of sugar in it! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. My dad always made us tea with milk and sugar or honey when we were sick and its my big comfort thing. But apparently not everybody’s! His voice right now is so cute, too, but I feel so sad for him. They are fun, aren’t they? I’m always turning away so he won’t see me laugh…

      Like

  2. Oh my, thanks for sharing! JP reminds me of the little guy I was looking after. He and I would have the craziest conversations. How I miss him. So keep posting about your grandson, it is music to my ears! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, thanks, that’s exactly how are conversations are. I literally could not make this up!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, I know! My little guy (unofficially adopted grandson!) and I have had some very similar chats. Me – “What should we do after lunch?” Him – “Go to Mikey Donalds”. Me – “But we will be full from Lunch” Him – “Then we will stay in the play area until we are hungry!” I think I will call that place Mickey Donalds for the rest of my life!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That is adorable!! And such a good idea. I love how their little minds work. You should post those…

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Loved this!! Made me want a hug too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a cute little munchkin, sounds like a bright little spark too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sometimes too bright. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Awww…he is smart and sweet. Loved the conversation…keep them coming… 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Love these posts!! I love the waking papa up so you can talk to him! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s all I can do not to let him see me laugh sometimes!

      Like

  7. What a cutie! Such a nice way to start my morning! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Diane, JP needs his own blog. Draw up some legalese paperwork and get him to sign off agreeing to your serving as his agent. This little guy has a bright future ahead! Hope y’all feel better soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes he does! Thanks, hoping so!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. He really should! A never ending source of material.

    Like

  10. Delightful, except for the being sick part. ‘Hope he’s feeling better soon. I often miss soft, sweet, boy fingers pushing my eyelids open to, “grAnnie Roo, are you awake yet?” At one time my favorite humans were ten-year-old boys. Decades later our family’s 3 three-year-olds have taken the lead. Great post, Diane. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! As you know, they are just a wealth of material for a blog!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. They make life worth living, don’t they. Thanks for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Plus he’s earning his keep providing me with material 🙂

      Like

  12. aww that is the sweetest post ever!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! It’s a series I’ve done since they began living with us!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. I love squishy hugs too 🙂

    Like

  14. Aww, he sounds perfectly precious! I’m so glad you’re keep “record” of these sweet little conversations. They are cherished today, but they will be absolutely treasured in days to come!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, that’s so nice of you to say!

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Hilarious. He’s wise beyond his years.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Treasured memories.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

