Me & JP: Conversations with a 3-year-old…

20151005_103457

JP is my three-year-old grandson. He and his mom and dad and their English bulldog live with us while their new house is being built.  One of the best things about having them there is spending time talking with him. It makes me hopeful for the next generation.  He is so wise and so much fun!

The other night we were reading books before bedtime.  He wanted to read one of his first books, one with pictures of farm animals and buttons to press that make animal sounds.

JP:  What is the mama sheep called, Nana?

Me:  A ewe.  You spell it E-W-E.

JP:   Eww like when you touch something icky?

Me:  Well, something like that…

JP:  Like eww, I touched poop?

Me:  (Laughing)  Yes, like that, I guess…

JP:  Eww,  like you touched pooky pee, Nana?

Me:  (Still laughing)  Yes, yes, just like that…

Papa:  It’s actually pronounced “you.”  You know, U-W-E.

Me:  (Rolling my eyes at my husband, the engineer.)

###

 

 

33 responses

  1. JP’s version is more fun 😄😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He is adorable, except when he’s not!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Hahaha. They always keep us laughing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, except when they’re whining 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. So true. Hoping those times are few and far between.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Aww….he is soo adorable!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So cute! And poop is funny till the day you die! Btw, Harry is an engineer, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Does he spell better than my hubby or is that an engineering thing, do you think?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’d answer that question if I could read his handwriting! It’s worse than any medical doctor’s I’ve ever seen!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Hahahaha…not sure if JP is funnier or the engineer who can’t spell!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know! And oldest son is an engineer, too, and no better at spelling. I tell them it’s good there are only 4 letters in their names!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Kids are sooo funny! Thanks for the smiles!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome. He’s a riot most of the time. The other times he’s whining 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m surrounded by testosterone and poor speakers. And me a journalism major. It’s sad.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Spellers, not speakers. Damn that auto correct

    Like

  8. Bravo. Thanks for sharing this. Were you able to contain the eye roll??

    Liked by 1 person

      1. My life is just one big circus…lol

        Liked by 1 person

  9. I really your photo of JP and you! It is adorable. His intelligence shines and I also am called, “Nana.”
    My Dad was an engineer and when it came time to get his book edited, my Mom refused since he was awkward in his characterizations and dialogue. I felt sorry for him since he married an English, Spanish and World Lit teacher!
    At age 15, I spent a summer being a nanny for an 18 month old and rewrote his book. I did not dare to change anything technical or science fiction. I had no clue. I tell people after being a middle school language arts teacher and special needs preschool teacher that most people are either strong in spelling or strong in math. I have not met anyone great in both. One out of my 3 kids could do pretty well in both until high school. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, I agree completely! I really dislike math, was a journalism major. Hubby and oldest son are engineers and I tell them all the time it’s a good thing they only have 4 letters in their names! DIL was a communications major, we just tune out when the guys talk shop. Are you still teaching? I used to sub and enjoyed it, other than the last minute calls!

      Like

  10. Oh, a female sheep is a ewe? All this time I’ve been calling them yucks! At least I was close.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

