Tips for Staying Together from LWL…

20160202_143932.jpg

Here are some tips that have worked for me, and we’ve been together a LONG time:  that’s us from more than 20 years ago.  Aren’t we cute?  Yes, really big glasses, lots of hair and always a glass in my hand 😉

 

  1. Learn to cook a few things.   Apparently it’s important.  I guess it’s a nurturing thing.
  2. Serve dinner late.  This is my personal fave as I’m not a great cook.  Really hungry guys are just glad to eat.
  3. Don’t feel you have to win every argument.  Usually it’s over something stupid and deep down, you know you’re right anyhow.
  4.  If you don’t like to shop for electronics, sporting goods or cars, don’t expect him to want to go shoe, purse or clothes shopping (unless it’s lingerie).  Girlfriends are usually more fun to shop with anyway!
  5. If he does go shopping with you, make sure to feed him.  Every shopping trip at my house revolves around a meal out.
  6. You going to three action or superhero movies equals him snoozing through one chick flick.
  7. When he is sick, he will always feel WAY worse than you, even if you have exactly the same illness.  You will be able to work, cook, clean, take care of the kids, pay bills, etc.  He will be able to lay down and cough occasionally.
  8. Keep in mind that opposites do attract, and what you found so exciting at first (i.e., his need for speed, for taking chances, the confidence in his opinion) will just be annoying as hell later.  I’m only halfway kidding here.

And, you’re welcome…

 

56 responses

    1. Thank you. I really was only halfway kidding 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. #4: If only they would plant these stores next to each other, wouldn’t that be great?! An electronics store right next to a craft store, a hardware store right next to a shoe store?
    Why don’t they think of these things?!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh, now that would be a wonderful marketing tool, wouldn’t it?

      Like

  2. Love it! And you guys were adorable! We’re thinking alike, my post tomorrow is how fiction raises the bar too high for real life romance!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OMG, isn’t that the truth?? For girls like me who started out reading Georgette Heyer when I was a teen, real life could be a real disappointment! Hubby tries, but romance really isn’t his thing — it’s why I still read it, probably, LOL! Thank goodness he has other redeeming qualities…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I hear ya! My husband is not particularly romantic either, but he is hilarious and we do laugh a lot!

        Liked by 2 people

      2. A guy who was super-romantic might be a little icky, you know? And then what would we have to complain about lol I’d rather laugh!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yeah I’m thinking too romantic, aka needy or icky as you put it. Been with my guy for 30 sevumpthing years and I still love him to pieces. He makes me laugh which is always a good thing 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Yes, we women can be romantic enough for both, I think. And who hasn’t ended up laughing yourself silly when you try to make something too romantic? It always backfired on me…

        Like

  3. I laughed at the end. Loved this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, laughing together is a big part of it, too! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  4. LOL Great tips and I can see how they need to be applied in my life!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. So true, every bit. Love it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, good, I’m glad it’s not just me!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I wrote this back in 2011 and we’re still married…offering this from a man’s point of view…

    https://lifeattitudes.wordpress.com/2011/04/17/six-ways-to-make-it-to-another-wedding-anniversary/

    Liked by 2 people

      1. So was yours! Wise advice indeed!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well, I was joking a little bit, but just a little 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I forgot you reblogged it already! Thanks…again!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. This is an excellent list! And…thank you! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I read the part about being sick to my husband and he said “oh I don’t do that.” Knowing he does it. He is the first to tell you he is a BIG baby when he’s sick. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s funny! Even my DDIL said my oldest is exactly like that when he’s sick. I swear, they are all the same!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. What would they ever do without us?

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Love it!!! So true….great advice there!! 🙂 🙂

    Like

  10. Spot on! Great post,

    Like

  11. It’s so true! His mom will still bring a care package over when he is sick (no kidding!). And really, when I want to be left alone, I just do some baking. Seems to keep him happy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, that’s so funny, but we probably do enable them a little (just cause we know we’re stronger!) 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yep, that is true Diane. 😊

        Like

      2. Yep, that is true too Diane. 😊

        Like

  12. Very true and well said from The Sage Herself 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was only half-kidding 😉

      Like

  13. haha I love the picture and the glasses! So cute! Very good tips! x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, my brothers called it my Janet Jackson hair cause I had colored it really dark and it was curly 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. hahaha I love that era, the hair the glasses. I used to curl it, then hot rollers, hair spray and then the flip and brush! more hair spray wow!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. But at least you can sing!

        Liked by 1 person

  14. It was hilarious how many times you mentioned feeding your husband. It is true that husbands do get very cranky without something in their stomaches.

    I have a similar picture of me with glasses and that same hair style except that I am nine months pregnant – I look like a volley ball!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And I only had boys, so every activity we did revolved around where we were eating!

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Same here – 3 sons and a husband. Loads of meals and grocery shopping.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I love this! And the photo of you is great – I dislike anything staged or posed for – and it shows truthfully how you looked at that time. Men are always hungry, so I’m with you about keeping them well fed. (Lol. I’m in danger of sounding like a zoo keeper here.) We’ve been married 46 years this year, and I can say with all honesty, that my husband has never gone hungry! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 46 years, congrats, that’s quite a feat!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m not sure who’s the ‘martyr to the cause’ – him or me! We do eat well, though. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh, I feel that way, too. We’re too settled to change anything now lol

        Like

  17. Really delightful list! And shows your cool and sweet side – not to sound corny – but I get tired of ego layered in some tip posts and this is why I say delightful! Cos that is what I felt as I read it – but do have to add my take on the feed him – I always do this “first” and then the pressure is off ! I have different angles in our twenty years together – like my spouse actually likes to cook a few times a week – but your last point was poignant – even tho here again slightly different for us as my hubs drives like a grandpa (slow) so often – but I appreciate his safe side – and if we are running late We both finally just realized it was time to give me the keys to keep the peace! Lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hah, hah! My life revolves around food — I swear youngest son will come down in the a.m. and ask me what’s for dinner? I always say, at least let me have my coffee first…lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ha! That’s funny

        Like

  18. Love your name ! And this post…so much truth in your humor. Thanks. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, liked your blog, too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

