Monday Musings…

It is so darn cold here in the Midwest this morning — 3 below.  I know it’s January, but c’mon already!  We are remembering Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., today, which means things are quieter with no school buses running and many people off of work, a good thing on this frigid Monday!

 

I think these words of Dr. King’s are very fitting for today’s world.  “To retaliate in kind would do nothing but intensify the existence of hate in the universe.  Along the way of life, someone must have sense enough, and morality enough, to cut off the chain of hate.”  Wish it were so.

 

I’ve been moving away from my book reviews and into more creative writing lately, just trying something different.  They say variety is the spice of life, right?  Or maybe it’s my attention span, or lack of one?  But still sticking with the love theme for now as we get ready for Valentine’s Day.

 

I’ll also be reblogging more lovely works from some virtual friends.  I enjoy searching out other people’s wonderful works almost as much as writing my own blog.  Stay warm or cool as the case may be!

 

My DDIL told me the Theme from St. Elmo’s Fire was a song that gave her “good chills” ever since she heard it played at a wedding.  I think sounds and scents are always good at evoking great feelings.  Luckily, she explained it was the Love Theme from St. Elmo’s Fire and not Man in Motion that she meant, and I’m no longer confused, LOL!  So, for your listening pleasure this very beautiful song…

9 responses

  1. Thanks for the reminder😇

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So fun that you are trying new things!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So far, so good 🙂 How’s the subbing going?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It is fine but to be honest well I am not used to this being out of the house! So my daughter told me just do two days for now! So, that is what I am doing. I have to get used to it! Thanks for asking xxx

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It’s definitely a change, isn’t it. Just hang in there, it will get easier! Why is change always so uncomfortable?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I know change is hard! Thanks!

        Like

  3. Oh this movie! I thought it was so great when I saw it when it came out! Now it was on tv a few weeks ago and it is hilariously bad! I had such a crush on Andrew McCarthy! Dorky me! Everyone else loved Rob Lowe! Thanks for the flashback!

    Like

    1. This is a grammatically poor comment, forgive me! 😱

      Liked by 1 person

  4. That’s so funny! I loved Rob Lowe, but just look at the hair! I said to DDIL, you were like 2 when this movie came out, why did you even know that song and that’s when she told me about hearing it at a wedding. She said she even bought a CD cause she thought it was the St. Elmo’s theme and turned out to be Man in Motion 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

