Miss You, Sis…

 

26867374

First friends, forever friends, my sister and me,

Playing together and with others, well, as much as she would let me…

Sometimes I was a thorn in her side — younger, sweeter, Daddy’s pet 😉

Also pesty and clingy and obstinate…

But she was too often bossy, an exemplary student,

While I followed along trying to keep pace…

She won honors and awards, finished school early

I was more average and just tried to behave…

Now that we’re grown, our own holidays to host

The age difference no longer matters

It’s distance and our parents’ absence

That has me missing her the most…

We talk on the phone, email, text and such,

Visit each other when time allows it

But, dear sis, not being together for Christmas

Has me thinking of you and missing you so much…

###

21 responses

  1. Ahh…eleven years difference between me and my Sister.
    So well expressed. Thank you.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Aw, it’s tough when you’re far apart from the ones you love. Hope you got to talk on the phone at least!

    Like

    1. We did, but I can tell she’s having a difficult time and we are both missing our mom who passed away a year ago — try not to travel at Christmas cause she and I both have kids and grandkids and its hard to be away!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Oh that is rough. I’m so sorry! And missing them at holidays and other events is the hardest. Sending love!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Spent time with both of my biological sisters yesterday. Sadly, my step-sister lives many states away.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you got to see two sisters! My brothers were there on Christmas Eve but my sis lives on the East Coast so holiday are harder to get together.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I am one of four girls, the youngest. My father left us all when I was 18. No more family and we girls just fell apart and no one talks anymore. So sad, but I still count my blessings and I know some day we will all be together again ❤ I have faith in the greater good. Until that time, until that time. Oh and we were only 1 year apart in age. My oldest sister was born in 1955, me in 1959 and two in-between. The sister above me & her were Irish twins and the two oldest were Irish twins (born with in the 12 months. One on October 4, the other September 29th) Like I said we will all be at the same table some day. Blessings ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I’m so sorry! I’m lucky to have two brothers who live relatively close but my sis is on the East Coast. Did the boys make it in yesterday?

      Like

      1. Oh yes they made it home yesterday about 5pm…So happy to see them, they looked great. Their flight was cancelled on Christmas Eve so I was kind of bummed, but they finally made it…Woo Hoo

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh, good, glad they got home!

        Like

  5. That’s great. One of the nicest things about my Christmas is that my younger sister comes in every year with her kids. You’ve reminded me to thank her for that.

    Like

    1. That is nice. Every year I try to figure out how we could all get together but too many of us now!

      Like

  6. Such a beautiful post! So sweet!

    Like

  7. What a blessing to be so loved and admired by your sibling. I hope your sister read this.

    Like

    1. You know, I’m not sure. She hadn’t really checked out my blog yet when I talked to her on Christmas day!

      Like

  8. Beautiful poem. A sibling is a very precious person to have in one’s life. You and your sister are lucky to have each other. Christmas seems to be the time of year when we miss our loved ones the most. I hope you are able to call each other lots!

    Like

    1. Oh, thank you! I’m so lucky to have two brothers and a sister, but she’s the only one who doesn’t live close. We can talk for hours tho 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I don’t have a sister but my two brothers and I are very close. I was missing my grown children and my grandies. I spent a wonderful time with my Mom from 24-27th, my Mom, one brother and I went to his house to have steak grilled out with delicious side dishes. My other brother and his wife were in California while my children celebrated their arrival of Christmas in their own homes. Soon, I will be celebrating with all of them ! 🙂

    Like

    1. We were not with all my husband’s kiddos and grandkids either. It gets harder all the time to wrangle them into one place! Just more celebrations this way, right? Enjoy your family time!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

