Me & JP: Conversations with a 3 Year Old…

20151005_103457

JP is my three-year-old grandson. He and his mom and dad and their English bulldog live with us while their new house is being built. One of the best things about having them there is spending  time having a quiet heart to heart with him.  It makes me hopeful for the next generation.  He is so wise and so much fun!  Recently we were driving in the car to meet Papa for lunch:

JP:  Nana, are we going by the animals?

Me:  Yes, but not yet.  (On the way, we drive by a property that has big cement animal statues)

JP:  Ooh, LOOK at all the Christmas trees!  And the GIANT snowman!  (In exactly the voice that I would say it to him)

Me:  Yep, I see.  (Driving by the tree lot)

JP:  We have a big Christmas tree, right, Nana?

Me:  We do.  It’s in the living room, remember?

JP:  It’s beeyootiful.   And there’s a snow Angel on top that changes color.

Me:  A snow Angel, hmm?

JP:  Who put it on the tree?

Me:  Papa put it on top of the tree.

JP:  How did he get it way on top, Nana?

Me:  I think he stood on one of the dining room chairs (whoops, rookie mistake!)   But you don’t stand on chairs, right?  Only grown ups do, right?

JP:  Okay, okay (very dismissively)   Nana, I can’t see the animals!

Me:  I know.  Honey, we’re not there yet.  It’s a little ways.  I’ll tell you which side —

JP:  Which side, Nana?

Me:  They’ll be on your side, but we’re not there —

JP:  (Looking out his window)  I CAN’T SEE, THERE’S A CAR BY ME!

Me:  Justin Paul, what does Nana say about yelling?

JP:  Take a chill pill…

###

12 responses

  1. This has to be a series please? How precious:)

    Like

    1. Aww, thank you! I’d like to keep it going, he’s great material!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. So sweet, cute and funny. I can,hear your voices, take a chill pill, adorable

        Like

  2. It’s really lovely that you are documenting this. Precious and timeless moments 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, thought I might make a little book for him to have. He is a never-ending source of information!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I can well imagine. Do make one. He will definitely love it. Children are such wonder and very enjoyable. I am almost feeling jealous of you and having him to yourself 😉

        Like

  3. Ah, just think: in 12 years he’ll be old enough to learn to drive that car. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bah hah! At least it won’t be my car! Hoping he’ll push my wheelchair, though, 😉

      Like

  4. I am really enjoying these posts with your grandson! The innocence of this age!

    Like

    1. Thank you! He is a wealth of information!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Really great! I’m so glad you’re posting these, it’s so precious! 😀

    Like

    1. Thanks! Figured it’s time he earned his keep, 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

