The BEST Writing Prompt Ever — Plus a Writing Contest!

I thought I had submitted my entry to the contest, but, as usual, operator error! I will get the hang of this computer, I swear!

Here is my entry, better late than never, right?
Twas the week before Thanksgiving and I’m a bit surly

For the holiday season was starting much too early,

I decided to walk Dog through a nearby park

Where his only interest was on those things squirrely.

We passed joggers dripping from the evening heat

With most of them looking entirely beat.

When what to my wondering eyes did I see

But a peaceful bustier, up in a tree…

I assumed it was a jogger who had gotten too hot

But thank goodness we saw no one without her top.

Dog and I started for home and were nearly out of sight

When we heard, “A cool Thanksgiving to all and to all a good night!”

(With apologies to Clement Clarke Moore)

Feeding on Folly

I know I’ve told you before about the park near our house where Dog and I like to walk. Truthfully, as far as parks go, it’s not much to brag about. But it’s serviceable and allows Dog a good run.

It’s also a nice place to walk if I need a bit of inspiration. Case in point, what I saw this week:

UnderwearAlright, so what’s the story here? What causes a person to throw their underwear up in a tree? And before you immediately leap to something scandalous, remember this is a park within easy view of a major city street. (Also, this is a G-rated blog. Well, most of the time.)Sign

On the other side of the brick wall are a number of thorny, desert plants and a sidewalk about eight feet away. So, pretty sure the underwear disposal happened on this side of the fence.

Also, you can’t…

View original post 144 more words

One response

  1. I can’t help imagining how it got up there 😄

    Like

Leave a Reply

