Killer Heels, The Art of the High-Heeled Shoe… Part One

Killer Heels, The Art of the High Heeled Shoe, at the Palm Springs Art Museum through December 13, is a traveling exhibit organized by the Brooklyn Museum.

The shoes below were especially designed for Lady Gaga’s introduction of her perfume, FAME, at Macy’s.  I had to start with these because, well, they’re so Gaga…

20151029_171202

Lady Gaga Shoe, 2012            Rem D. Koolhaas for United Nude, Dutch, born 1974

Another one of my favorites, if you need something for a snowy day:

20151029_172444

Boot, Artisanal Autumn/Winter 2013        Maison Martin Margiela, Belgian

20151029_172422

A closer view:  Leather with Swarovski crystal cuff, courtesy of Maison Martin Margiela

14 responses

    1. spoken like a true chiropractor — wait till you see part two 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Did you notice that the attendees were wearing smart walking shoes? Looks like a fun exhibit!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Exactly, my friends and I all had on our age-appropriate sandals! The street fair in Palm Springs was that night, too, so lots of walking!!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. […] Part Two from the fabulous Killer Heels, The Art of the High-Heeled Shoe Exhibit at the Palm Springs Art Museum running through December 13, organized by the Brooklyn Museum.  Part One is here. […]

    Like

  3. These remind me of a modern version of Chinese Foot Binding.
    Great post. Heading to Part 2.

    Like

  4. I love these pictures. Thank you so much. Going on to the next group now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for stopping by, glad you liked them!

      Like

  5. Hysterical. I like the guys climbing up the boot. Something I would definitely do. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was in heaven at that exhibit!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My heaven? A ladies shoe store. I am a freak for shoes shopping with spouse. I turned her into one as well. A win win situation.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hubby always says I have too many shoes, but really, is that possible?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. NO NO NO. My wife has about 50 pair, and I am anxiously awaiting the next shoe shopping expedition.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

