New Release — How Forever Feels by Laura Drewry…

 
 

From USA Today bestselling author Laura Drewry comes a warm and witty new Friends First novel—perfect for readers of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery. How Forever Feels is a sweet tale about the one that got away . . . and the one that came back.

Maya McKay’s heart is as big as Jack Rhodes’s shoulders are broad. Their chemistry is out of control, but it could never work between them because Jack is more than just best friends with her cheating ex-husband—they’re like brothers. Maya, the sensitive, practical florist, has given up on love and is ready to settle for like. But now that Jack’s around again, he’s stirring up old feelings—and turning Maya’s fantasies into irresistible reality.

Jack blew his chance with Maya years ago when he stepped aside for his best friend, Will, and he’s still kicking himself about it. Maya was promised forever once before, and she got burned. But when Jack realizes that second chances aren’t going to fall out of the sky, he seizes the moment—and the woman he’s always loved—to show her how forever truly feels.

Select Ebook Bundle from Loveswept

 
 

How Forever Feels (Friends First, #4)Review of How Forever Feels by Laura Drewry
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Maya first moved to town with her now ex-husband, Will, after meeting him and his best friend, Jack, at a party. Jack thought Maya was too pretty for words, but before he could make a move, his good-looking friend, Will, asked her out. A whirlwind courtship followed and before she knew it, Maya was married. In less than a year, she found Will cheating on her with a co-worker. Even though Maya tried hard to save their marriage, Will had already lost interest. And since Jack has been Will’s foster brother and best friend since they were kids, and totally indebted to Will’s family for taking him in, he’s uncomfortable taking sides after the divorce.

Now Maya loves her work as a florist in the small town and has a close-knit group of friends she hangs with who love her and hate Dickhead — their little nickname for Will. So when Jack comes to town for work and surprises Maya when she’s out with her friends, they’re all pretty reluctant to be friends with Dickhead’s best friend.  But it’s soon apparent to them that Jack has a thing for Maya and she’s totally oblivious about his feelings.

Jack is just the sweetest guy ever and I fell in love with him.  He’s big and endearingly clumsy to Maya’s tininess. He feels that he owes everything to Will’s family, the Carsons, for taking him in when he was young, but as he spends more time with Maya he knows he can’t leave her alone anymore. And he has to find some way to make Will understand.

The relationships in this book, the fourth in the series, are wonderfully done. Even Will, who actually says “bros before hos” out loud (ick), is not portrayed as a total loser. He seems sorry about hurting Maya and truly in love with his new fiancée, Stella. She seems like a nice enough person, too, and admits that she and Will made a big mistake by being together while he was still married to Maya, but she’d like to be friends with Will’s friends. And after hearing the horrible things Jack endured as a child in foster care, it’s easy to see why he feels he owes the Carsons so much for eventually taking him in and giving him a normal life.

All in all, this is a really great contemporary story of warm, wonderful and believable relationships and friendships. You don’t have to have read the other three books in the series to jump into this one, but, believe me, they are all worth the read and you’ll get to know all the wonderfully fun people in town.

BUY NOW
Amazon | B & N | iTunes | Kobo
USA Today Bestselling author, Laura Drewry had
been scribbling things for years before she decided to seriously sit down and write. After spending eight years in the Canadian north, Laura now lives back home in southwestern British Columbia with her husband, three sons, a turtle named Sheldon, and an extremely energetic German shepherd. She loves old tattered books, good movies, country music, and the New York Yankees.
Advertisements

5 responses

  1. This sounds like a series I could get into! In fact, my own series is set in a small town with a cast of recurring characters, so I know I’ll like it! Thanks for the good suggestions! Hey, I bet you could turn that image at the top of your sidebar into a custom widget! 😉

    Like

    1. I finished your book last night and thank goodness it was good so I can review it 🙂 looking forward to reading the second one! I was so proud of myself figuring out how to add spaces into the copy I’m kind of getting into this stuff!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh awesome! I’m so glad! If you have an extra minute and you don’t mind, I’d be ever so grateful for a good Amazon review, too! Thank you again!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Diane – thank you so much for hosting us on your blog this morning and for the great review! I’m so glad you liked Jack and Maya. She deserved a little happiness after what she went through with Dickhead. 🙂

    Cheers!

    Laura

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Thank you, it was my pleasure. Love the whole Friends First series!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: