It’s October, Time to Get the Girls Checked…

It’s October 1 and Breast Cancer Awareness month, so, if you haven’t already, it’s time to get the girls checked. I would have my blog go pink for the month but frankly, I don’t think it could get any pinker, LOL!

I lost my mom to complications from breast cancer just over a year ago, so this is a subject near and dear to my heart. Ladies, this is what I’ve read and what my doctor tells me:  please get your mammograms, they are still the gold standard for early detection.  If you have a family history, talk to your doctor about starting mammograms earlier than recommended.

And beginning at age 20, start doing your monthly self-exams (make it fun — ask someone to help you) 😉

5 responses

  1. My mom was operated on for breast cancer twice. I totally agree with you about getting regular mammograms. (And you can never have enough pink!) thanks…Clare

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for stopping by. My mom did not keep up with regular mammograms and by the time she was diagnosed in her 70s there was some in a lymph node. They did radiation but not chemotherapy and it was close to ten years before she was diagnosed with metastasized bone cancer that was also found in liver and lungs. She was amazingly strong and gracious to the end, a wonderful example for me and my siblings.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. My beautiful daughter in law lost her mum to breast cancer when she was just 13. She’s just been diagnosed with the Braca 2 gene and is now awaiting a double mastectomy so this is very close to my heart.. Thank you for this reminder which is just so important! I wish you the best!! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Wendy. The BRCA 1 and 2 genes are a frightening lot for women. I’m lucky not to fall in that category but doctors had told me that if I had, it requires a double mastectomy and removal of your ovaries. My prayers and good wishes are with your dear DIL ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much – yes your right she will have to have her ovaries removed as well but they are reluctant to do this straight away due to her age – she’s only 31.. Fortunately she has 2 beautiful daughters (who will have to be tested down the line too.. ) but is such a positive inspiration to us all in our family. She is definitely looking at this as ‘cup half full’ because as she says had they not been able to test for this she may have not had the opportunity to reduce her risk.. I genuinely wish you much love and good health for the future! xx

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

